RSS Feed

Heat up the cattle brander; we got some doggies to tag.

A few months ago I attended my first writer’s conference. I
walked into my first editor appointment with me stomach catapulting, and heart
racing faster than a hummingbirds’ wings.

Now, I believe in researching ahead of time, so I had my writing samples, my one-sheet, and a plethora of insightful answers in my arsenal.

But I didn’t have a brand.

After my pitch the editor said the one thing every hopeful dreams of hearing – I love the idea, love your writing voice, and I want the proposal.

In that moment, a Superbowl touchdown dance, though appropriate, is best done in one’s head.

The series I pitched intrigued her, and she started asking more questions, then we hit a snag. It would seem the first book would be categorized as romantic suspense, whereas the rest of them were straight contemporary romance.

What’s the problem? My ignorant brain begged. They are all romance stories! The first just happened to star a scary kidnapper. But no, the editor wisely told me I either needed to take the suspense out of the first one, or be prepared to turn the others into suspense driven plots.

She went on to say whatever my début novel ends up being, I better be ready to churn out ten more in the same genre.

Breaks squealing.

I don’t want to be pegged as just suspense or just contemporary. I have ideas for historical manuscripts and young adult novels. So can I not write them?

After a lot of prayer, I came up with my brand, or more a tagline to explain what I write and even why I write. That tagline (for now…if a publisher wants to change it when they print me I’m all ears) is: Love Worth Waiting For.

What does it mean? Come back next Wednesday and find out.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

4 responses »

  1. I like it! Very clever, sweet, thought provoking.

    Reply
  2. Miss Sadie. I love you. The end.

    Reply
  3. Somehow I missed this post before. Seems like one of those, “now I feel silly for not thinking of this before” moments. I love your tag line – perfect!

    Reply
    • It took me a long time to think of it, and hey, if I sign with an agent they could always change it, but I feel like it fits best with what I write and what I’m most passionate as far as speaking topics go.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

