RSS Feed

Is there any hope?

A friend of mine looked at me the other day, her eyes welding up with tears, and asked me how I can ever know anything is true or certain. She said that it bugs her that I can “be stable all the time” and she wanted to know how I could be sure there really was something to hope for. You see, there were things I hoped for that now seem out of reach and she wanted to know how I can face that all and not falter.

My friend accused me of having a heart of stone to go through what I am and act the way I am acting. I assured her that I did not; that stableness has nothing to do with the heart and everything to do with hope.

A story I once heard tells of a submarine that got stuck on the ocean’s floor. There were four men on board who were trapped and as the days went by their air supply lessened. A team of scuba divers were sent to assess the situation and they found terrible news. With no way to save the men in the submarine the scuba divers began to swim away. One of them heard tapping and he recognized it as morse code. He swam back and decoded the message. A trapped man tapped out, “Is there any hope?” The scuba diver didn’t know how to answer until finally he tapped back one word: “Jesus.” Then he had to swim away.

Too often we allow our fears and doubts to trap us. Too often we let uncertainty win us over and allow hope to die, and it is all because we place our hope in false gods and dream small dreams.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

Leave a Reply

