RSS Feed

An interview with author Lynn Squire

It’s great to have you today Lynn, can you tell us what  your novel is about?

Joab Black and his wife Sarah overcame the worst of pioneer hardships in order to establish a prosperous farm in Alberta, Canada. But those challenges never prepared them for the tragedy they now faced—a staggering loss and intense pain causing them to doubt everything they had ever believed. In the midst of their sorrow, even their closest friends interpret their sufferings as a result of God’s judgment. Has God abandoned them?

Sergeant Dixon, the local North West Mounted Police officer, investigates the events leading to the Blacks’ plight. While his work gives them a ray of hope, his probing into the activities of a certain stranger possibly connected to the case may cost him his job and even his life.

Inspired by the Biblical book of Job, this novel includes a Bible study exploring the perfection of God’s plan and the bounty of His love even in the most inexplicable and intense sufferings.

How much time did it take for you to complete Joab’s Fire?

I began writing Joab’s Fire in 2007 and continued writing a chapter a month until it was completed. Each month I submitted a chapter to a critique group. Then, when I had completed the book, I ran it through another critique group before it was ready to send to the publisher.

What was your routine for writing?

My routine when I started was substantially different than it is now. When I began, I wrote during my kids’ naptime and early in the morning. Now my kids are in school, and I write for a couple of hours during the day. The rest of my “writing work” time is split between “business management” (answering emails, bookkeeping, etc.), blogging, and marketing.

What inspired you to set this story in Canada?

Writing teachers often tell you to write what you know. I know the prairies, love history, and am particularly proud of my Albertan heritage. I loved reading my grandparents’ memoirs, and my sister gave me a book consisting of diary excerpts from NWMP officers in their early years.

All these played a part in my decision to set Joab’s Fire in the area where I grew up. While Arrowwood didn’t exist at the time that the story occurs, I put my fictitious town in the same area and made Joab Black’s farm a place my dad once lived as a boy. As a child, I used to play in the old buildings and dreamed up all sorts of stories to suit
the setting.

Tell us one of your favorite childhood memories?

Wow. I have many. Most of my memories were created from the back of a horse. I went everywhere on horseback, and frequently my horse would return home without me. Once, while playing cowboys and Indians at the neighbors, I, the brave Indian, raced under a clothesline. What do you think happened? Yup. I departed from my horse just like you see in the cartoons.

List three random things you would need if stranded on a desert island.

My Bible, water, and fishing line.

What books are laying on your beside table right now?

My Bible, Creating Character Emotions by Ann Hood, The Amelia Bedelia Treasury by Peggy Parish, and an RCA copy of Yahshua’s Bridge by Sandi Rog.

What’s your favorite food to snack on while you’re writing?

I don’t really snack while I write. However, I do drink gallons of tea and coffee.

Can you tell us what you’re working on right now?

I just received from my copy edits on my booklet, A Week of Faith more Precious than Gold. This booklet contains seven short stories with devotionals challenging the reader to purify his faith. Most of the stories reflect historical situations where true believers endured persecution.

Many of my readers are aspiring writers, what advice would you give them?

Pray without ceasing and passionately study God’s word. Pray about the direction God wants you to go. Not everyone is to follow the same path to publication. Study to know God’s truth, not man’s. If you know God’s truth you can identify false teachings and the world’s subterfuge.

The key ingredient to powerful writing is a constant and deepening relationship with God. You can only do this by getting to know Him through His word and through prayer.

Thank you for stopping by to chat with me today Lynn. Best of luck with with the release of Joab’s Fire this month.

Make sure to stop by next Friday when I’ll review Joab’s Fire, and give a free copy away to a person who leaves a comment that day.

_____________________________________________________

Lynn Squire is an avid writer who artistically intertwines Biblical truth with
colorful narrative. Her childhood farm life, coupled with her equestrian experiences, brings authenticity and heart to her stories. Lynn actively serves her church through her writing and in other ministries and is currently the president of the American Christian Fiction Writers San Francisco Bay Area Chapter in California, where she resides with her husband and three children.

To learn more about Lynn, visit her website at www.lynnsqire.com

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

One response »

  1. Thank you for the interview! I had fun doing this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

