RSS Feed

You’re under arrest for poor research.

“He heard the cop kicking in the door. It busted open. He raised his hands in surrender, but the cop leveled his gun and three shots resounded. Hot fire burned in his chest.”

This excerpt was taken from a writer’s work in progress that I’m helping critique (and was used with permission). My comment back? Kudos for high-impact action, but you’ll have to change your whole story because this would never happen.

Since finding out I work for a police department (disclaimer: I am NOT a police officer, just an office worker), writers have been coming out of the woodwork to ask me police-related questions or ask me to read their police fiction to advise if their idea is probable. Unfortunately, about 95% of what I’ve seen I’ve had to tell the writer that they needed to go back and make major changes.

I read one about a Chief being the first responder to a call about graffiti and another where the lowest ranked officer at the department was the head investigator for a murder. Poor…or no research leads to huge gaffes like these.

The issue? Most people believe research is for historical fiction writers only. That, and I’ve found that most people believe they have a good handle on the police world so they don’t have to research. I mean, they’ve watched CSI and Hawaii 5-O, and that one mean officer gave them a speeding ticket, so they know how cops roll, right? Please roll your eyes along with me.

So today I’m offering the Do’s and Don’ts of writing about the police.

The Do’s:                                                                                                  

Do meet and interview an officer. Find a department that is in the same situation as your manuscript, meaning if you are setting your writing in the country where the Sheriff’s department would respond. Don’t interview a Chicago police officer because the information and procedures will be vastly different.  If your work is set in a small town, find a small town near you and call up that department and set up an interview. Even small things, like referring to a Sheriff as a Chief (unincorporated areas verse incorporated) will ruin the authenticity of your writing.

Do ask if you can participate in a ride-along. A ride-along is just what it sounds like: you sign a waiver then spend a couple of hours in the squad car going on all the calls with an officer. On dangerous calls you stay in the squad, but on other calls, some departments will let you go out with the officer on investigations and interviews. The whole time you’re driving around you have a captive audience with the officer and can ask questions. It’s an invaluable and easy experience to get tangible research.

Do participate in local citizen’s police academies. Most departments offer citizen’s police academies periodically. It usually means you meet one night a week for 10-12 weeks at the police department. You will be taught by sworn members of the department on many aspects of the police department that no one ever sees. They cover evidence collection and storage, special task forces, K-9 training, and more. If you are a writer interested in having a police officer for a character, this is an opportunity you cannot afford to pass up.

Do send a thank you. If you had an interview or ride-along with an officer, get their name and write a thank you letter. Make sure to send two copies to the department, one addressed to the officer and one addressed to their Chief or Sheriff. Because of their jobs, most officers only ever hear people complaining about them, you have no clue how encouraging it is for them to receive a good letter. If you had a really awesome experience, think of baking some cupcakes or dropping off a little edible thank you that the entire department can share.

The Don’ts:                                                                                              

Don’t use television shows for research. Even cop shows that use real police footage are off limits. With these clips, sections have been cut out and the policy behind what they are doing isn’t explained.

Don’t craft stupid, bumbling officers. This has, sadly, been the norm in fiction and might have been truer in the days when one lawman ran the town with just his brains and his gun, but with today’s laws and technology, it’s an incorrect, and offensive, portrayal. The police in your manuscript don’t have to be the heroes who solve everything; someone else can swoop in and put the pieces together, but don’t have them missing huge pieces of information.

Don’t call the police department and ask cryptic questions. Well, not unless you want them to track your number and send a nice officer to your front door. If you are going to write about the police, then take a deep breath and build up some courage. Call (or better yet, stop in person – just don’t expect an interview that day) a department and explain that you are a writer and would like to meet with someone and ask questions. Explain yourself. You don’t want them thinking you’re going to use the information for something nefarious.

Don’t get upset if your interview or any other interaction with the police gets postponed. If an emergency comes up, you will drop to the bottom of their priority list. It’s not mean, it’s not a brush off, it’s the police officer doing his job.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

12 responses »

  1. Thank you, Jessica! This is good information. I’m an historical writer, but I’ve been contemplating a few suspenses that I have plotted and have consider asking to participate in a ride-along.

    Reply
    • You’re welcome. You should do a ride-along for sure! It’s a lot of fun and they always slot you with a more talkative officer. Officers LOVE talking about police stuff so once you get them started you’ll probably get more information than you ever wanted :). It’s a good way to form a relationship with that department for more questions too, you do a ride-along and meet an officer, then later if you have more specific questions you just call up or stop by and see that officer, its great.

      Reply
  2. I appreciate seeing the paths that your research can take. There are a lot of ways to find out the information, and connecting with a real person, vs. just using the interent, makes for a fabulous book. I love reading prefaces where the author talks about there research, it really gives me a feel for their dedication to their craft.

    Reply
  3. This is a great post Jessica and I am glad you posted it. I have been writing suspense for a long time and always needed information from a police officer but was unsure of how to obtain it. I would revise my manuscript so I could get by without the information and go on. Now that I know that they probably won’t mind if I stop by and request an interview I will do just that. I wondered if I would be in their way if I did this. I did’t want to interfere with their job.Thank you again

    Reply
    • You’re very welcome! Police LOVE talking about police stuff and if you get an officer started they’ll have all sorts of crazy stories you couldn’t dream up if you tried. I’d suggest a ride-along if you’re able, it gives you the “most bang for you buck” because you’ll have a couple of hours to ask all sorts of questions and also see police work first hand. Also, if you are doing suspense where an officer is doing an investigation, it would be worth asking if you could meet with a detective instead of an officer for information.

      Reply
  4. Very good post! One of the best things I ever did was take my local citizens’ police academy course. We now stay active in supporting the police department too, in volunteer roles….

    Reply
  5. Great advice, Jessica. Thanks!

    Reply
  6. I appreciate you taking the time to share this. I know years ago I was in the camp that only historicals needed research. I know better now, and I’m always looking for great tips. You provided amazing wisdom, Jessica!

    Reply
  7. I’m pretty stuck on historical research right now, and my hubby thinks maybe it doesn’t matter too much what kind of goat she’s raising or what sort of wagon they take to town…:( think I’m being too specific?

    Reply
    • I go back and forth with just how specific to be in historical writing…I mean, we weren’t there right? And we’re only going off of what someone back then chose to write down – but that doesn’t mean that was the norm. Also, I feel like historical writing is so difficult because sometimes historical fact is different from historical public opinion and in those instances you almost have to go against fact to do what will seem right to the reader, even if it isn’t. Kudos to you for all the research. Good luck with the goat!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

