RSS Feed

Battle Ready?

The horse is made ready for the day of battle, but victory rests with the Lord. –Proverbs 21:31

There are two extremes in the Christian world when it comes to how a person goes about discovering God’s plan or will in our lives.

The first is that everything in life depends on us and what we do. If we mess up and do something wrong than we’ve somehow messed up the plan. What a stressful and self-important way to live.

The second is that nothing is within our control so we have to wait on God for an answer and doing anything else is having weak faith. What a boring and complacent way to live.

I believe the middle of this road is the correct path to walk. We have a responsibility to take action, then, once we’ve done all in our power, to hand the end outcome over to the Lord.

A warrior preparing a horse for battle would have taken the horse through extensive, daily training. He would have fitted his horse with armor. But on the battlefield, the warrior had to believe that he’d done everything in his power to prime his steed and leave the rest of his worries behind. The same is true for us.

Years ago, when I graduated college and went on job interviews, I clamped onto this verse. I’d study the organization I was interviewing at, I’d prep my outfit, and practice interview questions. If I wanted a job it was my responsibility to prepare, but once I walked into the interview, the offer was up to the employer.

Now here I am at a major writer’s conference. I could be freaking out, but I have no reason. I’ve studied my craft, taken classes, suffered through tough critiques, revised, listened to professionals, and studied the market. I spent weeks editing my manuscript and preparing my one-sheet and proposal. I’ve done everything in my power to prepare my horse for battle.

And now that I’m here, my one responsibility is to cast my worries away, because victory rests in the Lord. God will battle for my manuscript if that is his will. My job is still horse preparing—making friends, soaking in the lessons, finding out industry information, and bettering my craft.

And you know what? Maybe this means I’ll never end up selling a manuscript, but if that’s the case I’m not about to despair. I’ll trust God that it’s either not time, or it might never be. Either way, it’s not up to me.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

3 responses »

  1. Jess, you were on my mind today–praying for your time at the conference. You have a wonderful book to show editors and agents and I know that God will bless your time with them!

    Reply
  2. Jessica, you expressed this so well. I am sure that you will be richly blessed regardless. Ada.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

