RSS Feed

Spend the summer in Oakville

Meet character Tessa Hasmer Murphy, from A Summer in Oakville, in a letter to her oldest daughter, Robin.

May 25

Dear Robin,

Has your dad arrived yet? You should encourage him to get his own place closer to the job, you know. Gas is so expensive out there in California. It will take him a while to get acclimated to the heat, even though he’s a golf nut here at home in Wisconsin. But enough about him.

How are the girls? Kiss the babies for me. Tell that handsome hubby of yours hello.

I should tell you that Grams and Gramps have run into a little trouble. Oh, nothing serious. They’re healthy and all. Just some tax problems. We can work something out. I’ll talk to your dad about it next time he calls.

Oh, and I may not be home next time you try to call, so use the cell number, okay. Again, nothing to worry about. Dad knows how much Grams and Gramps need me, so I may be spending a lot of time other on the farm. Especially since your dad isn’t here to help out. Tell him I might need to hire someone to take care of things while he’s gone.

Your sister is fine. That is, the graduate school program graduation ceremony was beautiful. That’s right, you probably already saw some pictures from her. Digital everything these days! She’s moved out of her apartment in Chicago, coming back home for a while until just the right job opens up. She’ll find something soon, I’m sure. I knew that boyfriend of hers was no good. But don’t tell Linds I said that, okay?

Let’s see, what else. Oh, your cousin Andy? Uncle Art doesn’t say much, but Gram told me he’d been in trouble again. Something about spray-painting? I never would have guessed. Just never imaged one of our own could think up such monkey business. His mother’s been gone almost a year, and some things a body just never gets used to. Especially when you’ve been married as long as your dad and me. Uncle Art and Aunt Amy. I still have a hard time thinking she’s passed on, poor girl.

Well, I have to go. Another meeting of the Downtown Marketing group, then Ladies Circle. Talk to you soon!

Love,

Mom

 ___________________________________________________________

Lisa Lickel is a Wisconsin writer who lives with her husband in a hundred and sixty-year-old house built by a Great Lakes ship captain. Surrounded by books and dragons, she writes inspiring fiction. Her novels include mystery and romance, all with a twist of grace. She has penned dozens of feature newspaper stories, short stories, magazine articles and radio theater. She is the editor in chief of Creative Wisconsin Magazine and of OtherSheep, a Christian sci fi/fantasy magazine. She loves to encourage new
authors. Find her at at her website.  LisaLickel.com.

______________________________________________________________

Interested in reading A Summer in Oakville?

Black Lion Publishing

Amazon

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

5 responses »

  1. Thanks, Jess! I appreciate you.

    Reply
  2. Thank you, Jess. So sweet of you to host us.

    Reply
  3. Unless it is meant to be a fictional place, Oakville (CA) is less than 10 miles north of me, a small village entirely surrounded by vineyards.

    Reply
  4. I loved hosting you! I’m looking forward to next week too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

