RSS Feed

The best Fall activity in Chicagoland

Do you live in the Chicago area and want to make the most of the season? Then Goebbert’s Pumpkin Patch in Hampshire is a must.  My husband and I don’t consider it Fall until we’ve been to Goebbert’s, swigged down their apple cider with a side of cider donuts, cheered on the pig races, fed all the animals, picked a pumpkin off the vine in the field, and visited the pumpkin eating dinosaur.

Waiting in the pumpkin field for the tractor to pick us up.

The Goebbert’s pumpkin silo, welcomes us back every year.

The pumplin eating dinosaur.

The pumpkin cannon. This thing launched pumpkins into the field at a ridiculous speed, all aimed at a VW Beetle.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

6 responses »

  1. Fun! I think I want to go there someday. I’m glad you didn’t include “corn maze” on your list of fun things, becuase I don’t think those are fun. I’ve ruined shoes, gotten lost, and somehow cut myself on a cornstalk. No thanks.

    Reply
  2. Ha! There is a corn maze there but we had just done one the weekend before (and remembered how much we hate them) so we walked right on by and didn’t miss it at all. We always end up in a corn maze once every fall, but its fun for like three minutes and then we have thirty more minutes of wishes we never went in.

    Reply
  3. We’re going next weekend! This weekend we went apple picking for the first time at Apple Holler up in Wisconsin (by Phatom Ranch). I’d always heard of it but had never been. The apple cider donuts divine!

    Reply
  4. What better way to bring in the Fall season then with a nice family trip to the pumpkin patch? 🙂 My family goes every year, and we pick one PERFECT pumpkin. When we get home we find the best stencle and then carve it. Fall is the best season becasue there is so much to do outside in the cool air! And I think Fall has the best treats. Cider, Apples( cooked all ways), pumpkin…and all the warm yummy meals:)

    Reply
  5. Thank you for your post, I was saddened this Halloween because I as not able to find a single pumpkin to carve this year! Usually my family goes to the pumpkin patch but this year we could not make it. So when I went to the store 2 days ago to get one to carve…they were all gone:( Better luck at thanksgiving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

