RSS Feed

Caramel Apple Pie

I seem to go overboard whenever Fall comes around and we go apple picking. See my husband and I can only eat so many apples before the bussel that seemed like such a good idea when we were at the orchard goes bad. To compensate, I make loads of apple recipes in October and November. Here’s a tried and true apple pie.

  • 1 recipe pastry for a 9 inch double crust pie
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Dash of nutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 8 Granny Smith apples – peeled, cored and sliced

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Melt the butter in a saucepan. Stir in flour to form a paste. Add water, white sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla, and bring to a boil. Reduce temperature and let simmer.

In a large bowl mix the apples with 2/3 of the syrup mixture. Place the bottom crust in a 9 inch pie pan. Fill with apples, mound slightly. Cover top with lattice work of crust (or just a top crust with slits if you don’t want to make a lattice) and pour remaining syrup on top of crust. Pour slowly and make sure it doesn’t run over the sides.

Bake 1 hour in a preheated oven, until apples are soft.

Remove pie. Let cool slightly. Serve with vanilla ice-cream. Enjoy!

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

5 responses »

  1. YUM! I’ll have to try this sometime! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. Yay a recipe for my two 1/2 pecks! Hopefully it will be equally delicious with various kinds of apples we got Ida Red, Rome Beauty & Jonothan’s.

    Reply
  3. I’ve tried it with other apples Jamie. Still good. I love granny smith’s tartness, but others are just as tasty. P.S. I can give you an amazing recipe for apple dumplings if you need more ways to get rid of them.

    Reply
  4. There is nothing that says Fall like a nice warm apple pie. I have found a great way to make this all time favorite even better. Personal peices of pie:) All you do is make your pie as normal but instead of it getting put into a pan to bake you simply put the shell and stuffing into a cupcake pan. Only 6 are allowed at a time for spill over. This way there is no cutting and everyone gets just the right size/hand held peice of apple pie:)

    Reply
  5. Thank you for your post, I was sad that my family was not able to make it to the apple orchard this year. Instead I ended up buying one of the bags and using that to do some baking. This years apple treat was apple /oatmeal cookies..I think they would have done better if I put in some walnuts though. Either way they were a good treat to add to the pile of recipies:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

