RSS Feed

A Solo Sport?

I’m officially an adult. One, I flew and rented a car all by myself for the first time and 2) I’ve somehow lost the ability to open a Capri Sun juice pouch.

They often tell you that writing is a solo sport. Most of the time it is just me locked away in a room typing away for hours, so I get that. But the journey of writing is impossible without the help of others.

This past weekend I attended the Storycrafters Retreat hosted by Susan May Warren with My Book Therapy. I learned more in two days under Susie’s guidance than all the conferences and classes I’ve attended put together. There were twelve other writers who I had time to become friends with and we all brainstormed our manuscripts together. More than that, I met and spent time being encouraged by one of my heroes, Susan May Warren. On Saturday night she had us get in our pajamas and we all sat with our laptops in a large room in the lodge with a roaring fire going. Pure bliss for a writer (did I mention the staff kept bringing us chocolate chip cookies hot from the oven?).

When I arrived home I was confused to discover that my husband had carried an old couch that we kept in a spare room into our living room. I didn’t question it, but it was odd. Then he called me into the spare room and I walk in there and he’s moved out all the items we had stored there, bought new furniture and set up a personal office for me. He told me that he did all that to let me know that he supports me in every step of the journey. Have I ever told you how much I love my husband? He’s an amazing man and I couldn’t pursue my dreams without his constant encouragement.

Then there are amazing friends that I’ve met along the way like Ellen, Erynn, Charity, Amanda, and Halee. And dear friends like Lisa, Sadie, and Amber who constantly beg to read “what’s next.”

A solo sport? Not by half.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

8 responses »

  1. If this is a sport, then I’m a spectator to your athlete! I love cheering you on…and I love that you are willing to put in all this work honing your craft. I know it’s not always easy being a “real person” while also chasing your dream of writing. I’m glad to have you as a friend, and be part of this journey with you.

    Welcome to adulthood! If those are the official criteria, I’m still a young adult, which is ok by me 🙂

    Reply
  2. Sounds like an amazing experience! (especially the chocolate chip cookies). I’m so glad I can be a part of your writing journey. =)

    Reply
  3. Yay! I really hope to make it to the next one. And what Halee said. I’m so glad we found each other!

    Reply
  4. Three things:

    1) I am so glad you had a great experience at Storycrafters, and I definitely want to try for next year. I would love to spend a long weekend working on a new idea with you, the girls, and Susie! We’ll see 🙂

    2) I teared up a little when I read what your husband did for you. That’s crazy awesome. I know how important that support is, and just yeah, he’s awesome.

    3) I can’t tell you how often I have thanked God for you in the last two months since we’ve meet. I’m so glad He’s brought our paths closer. You ladies rock!

    Reply
    • I feel the same way on all three accounts! I’ve been so blessed and I need to remember that. I’ve been discouraged about writing the last few days and feeling just so tired all the time and energy to write and be creative seems to have left me, but your comment boosted me. Thanks friend!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

