RSS Feed

Riding a Roller Coaster

*Guest poster Shannon Taylor Vannatter

The life of a writer is a roller coaster ride. Highs, lows, euphoria, and disappointments. Will I ever get published? Nine and a half years later, will my books sell? Will readers like my book? Will there be another contract? Publishers closing lines and killing two of my books. But wait, the line isn’t closing and my books are alive again. E-books taking over. The economy.

The life of a pastor’s wife is a roller coaster ride. Highs, lows, euphoria, and disappointments. How can we reach the lost? Should we answer the call at this church or that church? Will there be another church? Which bill can we put off until next week? Will we ever be out of debt? Should my husband go full time pastor and give up the job that’s been our bread and butter for 27 years? How can we reach the non-church goers?

The life of a mom is a roller coaster ride. Highs, lows, euphoria, and disappointments. Will our baby be okay? Ten fingers and ten toes? You’re sending him home with us and we’re supposed to know what he needs and keep him alive? Will he ever sleep through the night? Will I ever think adult thoughts and speak adult language again? Will he cry all through daycare? Will he be okay at school? Will he choose the right friends? Will he have character? Will he make Godly decisions?

My life verse that keeps me sane: Colossian 3:23 – And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men;

This verse keeps me focused and knowing: If I do my part–writing the best book I can write that uplifts Him–He’ll handle the rest. If I consult Him in church decisions–He’ll lead in the right direction. If I turn my almost ten year old over to Him–it will all work out okay.

_________________________________________________________

Central Arkansas author, Shannon Taylor Vannatter is a stay-at-home
mom/pastor’s wife. Her debut novel,
White Roses won the 2011 Inspirational Readers Choice Award in the short contemporary category. The 18th Annual Heartsong Awards named Vannatter 3rd Favorite New Author, and White Roses #1 and White Doves #8 in the contemporary category. The Arkansas Democrat Three Rivers Edition voted Vannatter one of 20 to Watch in 2011.

She has taught fiction workshops at The American Christian Fiction Writers Conference in St. Louis, MO, Life Press Christian Writers Conference in Memphis, TN, and Ozark Romance Authors Conference in Springfield, MO. She also taught a writing class as a continuing adult education course at the Arkansas State University.

The first book in her Texas rodeo series, Rodeo Dust will be available through
Heartsong Presents in October. Rodeo Hero and Rodeo Ashes release in 2012. Learn more about Shannon and her books at her website and check out her real life romance blog.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

Leave a Reply

