RSS Feed

Nano Wrimo

For the month of November, be warned. You might see us taking over the libraries, elbowing our way in historical societies, and hogging the big table at the coffee shop. Bear through it because it’ll only be for one month. After that we’ll slip back into the cracks and become the silent many again.

What on earth am I talking about?

Nano Wrimo. It stands for National Novel Writing Month and occurs every November. Writers from across the globe pledge to write every day and we report our word count by midnight. Our goal is to write no-less-than 50,000 words during the month of devotion.

This will be my first year participating, and while I’m excited, I’m also afraid that I may become a hermit. So if you don’t see or hear from me this month, rest assured, I’ll come back in full force in December.

And hopefully I’ll have a rough draft manuscript to show for it.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

7 responses »

  1. I love it! This is such a cool event. I’ve seen a couple books that were results of NaNoWriMo. Good luck!

    Reply
  2. YAY! Good for you!!! This is my 5th year participating :D. Feel free to find and buddy me – username carolm. There’s also a Chistian WriMos Facebook group if you’re interested.

    /bounces up and down clapping/ I love NaNo!!! Wish I could stay up and start tonight but that is exceptionally unlikely. In fact, I probably won’t get to start until tomorrow evening sometime :(.

    Reply
    • Me too Carol…I don’t forsee myself staying up past midnight just to get started… although I’ve considered waking up at like 3am, but it might just have to wait. I’m going to finish plotting tonight whilst handing out candy to the trick-or-treat kids. Let’s keep each other encouraged!

      Reply
  3. I’ve got as much plotting done as I’m going to. This girl’s a pantser through and through :D.

    Normally, I’m a night owl so I’d stay up and start [naturally, my most productive times of day would be 9p-1a or so] but I have to be up at 545 Tuesday mornings so… The way my Tuesdays are [I actually have to WORK!!!! *gasp*] it’ll likely be after I get home [about 315] or after the kids are in bed [730-8]. /sigh/ Ah well. I’m excited about it :D.

    And definitely keep each other encouraged! I haven’t arranged it with hubby yet, but I usually try to do a 10K day. Last year it was the Sat after Thanksgiving. Would you be interested in trying to do that together? If so, when works for you?

    Reply
  4. Good luck with the 50,000 word challenge in November Jess! Just remeber you have to surface to cook for Thanksgiving! 🙂

    Reply
  5. If you write as well as you bake the cookies there nis no doubt that you will have a beautiful piece of work.Don

    Reply

Leave a Reply

