RSS Feed

Toss the Packet Addiction

As each day draws colder than the last I finally throw up my hands, crying uncle. There might not be snow yet and the solstice isn’t until the twenty-first, but winter’s icy breath is already prickling our skin.

And with that thought I rush to the kitchen to warm up, because a good woman knows there are only two things that can cure the constant chill of the season: soup and hot chocolate. I shared a stick-to-your-ribs soup last week, so today it’s all about the liquid cocoa. I’m not talking the store-bought package variety, do yourself a favor and chuck the stuff. No, I’m talking from scratch spoon-licking hot chocolate.

Homemade Hot Cocoa

  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/3 cup boiling water
  • 3 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup whipping cream (heavy or half-and-half)

To the boiling water, add cocoa, sugar, and pinch of salt. Bring to a boil while you stir then simmer, stirring for two minutes.  Do not scorch!

Stir in the milk and heat until very hot (but don’t bring to a boil or the milk will spoil).  Remove from heat and add vanilla and cream. Ladle into mugs and top with whipped cream and/or chocolate shavings.

Enjoy!

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

3 responses »

  1. Ummm delicious! Why have I never thought of adding vanilla before? I occasionally make my own version of “from scratch” cocoa, but this looks simply amazing. And may I share a treat I recently discovered? Trader Joes Sipping Cocoa. So good. It has the richest, smoothest taste.

    Reply
  2. Sy Vander-molen

    Rich yes but sure good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

