RSS Feed

you need only to be still

God’s been showing me what dependence on him looks like and Exodus 14:14 has become a “war cry” for me lately.

The verse falls right when the Israelites are standing by the red sea. They do not know God is going to part the sea, heck, God’s presence isn’t even there right now (no pillar of fire). It’s just Moses and them and they are sitting at a dead end.

Suddenly the earth starts to shake. They hear the thundering of horses’ hooves then Pharaoh’s entire army starts pouring over the hills and roaring down towards them, spears at the ready.

This is where Exodus 14:14 comes in “God will fight for you, you need only to be still.”

I must admit, in that situation I think being still would have been the farthest thought from my mind. I would have done something classy like dove into the sea and started swimming to get away or maybe just stand there screaming at the top of my lungs.

However, God was faithful, God showed up and saved every single one of them. There was never reason for panic or worry because he was going to take care of them. The situations in my life have always been nothing compared to that.

I need not fret, God is faithful.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

2 responses »

  1. a timely word. Thank you.

    Reply
  2. Amen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

