RSS Feed

White Chocolate Cranberry Scones

Truth. I’m obsessed with the show Downton Abbey. First, you must understand that anything British gets me excited. Second, you must know that I love historical stuff — books, shows, clothes — you name it.

So, since I’ve been in a British mood lately I decided scones would be the order of the day. Not just any scones, but my secret cheater’s version! Normal scones take long to make and can be temperamental for even the best cook, but these … magic every time.

Yes, cheaters may not prosper, but they can have one delicious breakfast! Just do me one small favor: don’t tell Cousin Violet that we took shortcuts!

White Chocolate Cranberry Scones

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 8 tablespoons unsalted butter, frozen
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries (craisans)
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips extra sugar for sprinkling

1.     Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2.     In a medium bowl, mix flour, 1/3 cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Grate butter into flour mixture on the large holes of a box grater; use your fingers to work in butter (mixture should resemble coarse meal)…I use a pastry mixer or the food processor when I’m lazy. My *trick* is to freeze the butter overnight then in the morning you basically cut shavings of it with a knife into the bowl then it mixes perfectly.

3.     In a small bowl, whisk sour cream and egg until smooth.

4.     Using a fork, stir sour cream mixture into flour mixture until large dough clumps form. Use your hands to press the dough together. It will be sticky in places, and there may not seem to be enough liquid at first, but press on! It’ll all come together. I promise.

5.     Place on a lightly floured surface and pat into an 8-inch circle about 3/4-inch thick. Sprinkle with 1 tsp. of sugar. Use a sharp knife to cut into 8 triangles; place on a cookie sheet (preferably lined with parchment paper), about 1 inch apart. Bake until golden, about 15 to 17 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes and serve warm or at room temperature.

Oh dear! I know that look. You told her my secret, didn’t you?

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

8 responses »

  1. Downton Abbey? My wife and I have been wanting to rent this series at the library, but someone else has always beat us to it. Both of us like to watch British TV series too.

    For the scones, can I use strawberries instead? Thank you.

    Reply
    • The recipe is VERY forgiving. We’ve tried white chocolate with orange. And I’ve done chocolate chip and cinnamon scones. I think strawberries would work. You might want to try dehrdrated ones (I think that’s what the cranberries are). I’d imagine fresh strawberries might scrunch up when cooked. If you try it, let me know how the recipe turns out.

      Reply
    • Also – make sure you get to see Downton Abbey. I *think* you guys could watch it for free right now on PBS.org.

      Reply
  2. Thank you for this recipe and any mention of Downton Abbey.

    Reply
  3. KatherinesDaughter

    I am obsessed with Downton as well and just may make your scones this weekend!
    Joanne

    Reply
    • Please do! And come back and let me know how they turned out. 🙂

      Also…feel free to talk Downton with me anytime…I’m already counting the hours until the next episode.

      Reply
  4. When do you put the cranberries & chocolate in?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

