RSS Feed

It’s okay to cheat: Chocolate Cake

Oh…the Cosby show. The cake Cliff messes with in the clip is not chocolate, but it’s funny!

Today we’re sticking with nice and easy. A fool-proof chocolate cake that will always come out perfect and will stay moist and delicious for days (if it lasts that long in your house). Now, most of the time I bring you ‘from scratch’ recipes, but not today. Today is my cheater cake (mind you, the only time cheating is okay is when there is cake involved).

Cheater Chocolate Cake

For the Cake:

  • 1 package chocolate cake mix (18.25 ounces) I usually used Betty Crocker’s Triple Chocolate Fudge
  • 1 package instant chocolate pudding mix (5.9 ounces) – it should be Jello brand if Bill Cosby has anything to do with it 😉
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 cups mini chocolate chips

For Glaze:

  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons light corn syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 12 cup bundt pan.
  2. Mix all cake ingredients together in a large bowl, adding chocolate chips last. Pour blended mixture into bundt pan.
  3. Bake for 55 minutes. Cool cake in pan for 90 minutes before turning out onto a plate.
  4. Using a double boiler, combine chocolate chips, butter, and corn syrup. Stir mixture the whole time the chips are melting (don’t let the chocolate scorch!). When the mixture is smooth, remove from heat and add vanilla.
  5. While glaze is still warm, pour/spread it onto the cake, let it drizzle down the side.

Anyone else drooling?

 Much Love – Jess 

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

2 responses »

  1. I’m not likely to make the cake, though if someone made it for me I would eat it! (Alas, I am not a gifted baker.) But I wanted to comment because I *love* the video. Should I date myself and say I grew up watching The Cosby Show? Thanks for sharing this walk down memory lane. ; )

    Reply
    • Oh goodness, we LOVE The Cosby Show and will watch it for hours if we find a marathon going. I could spend far too long on YouTube looking up clips.

      Next time I make the cake I’ll mail you some…or I’ll make it when you come in July! I’m a baking machine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

