RSS Feed

We Are New.

Posted on

My AMAZING friend Kristy L. Cambron is guest posting today. Kristy is wonderful for many reasons, some of them being her love of Austen, Bronte, and Downton Abbey, but more importantly, she has a cheerful heart, puts others first, and is always ready with a word of encouragement. She writes Vintage romance – with a heart for Christ. You can find her author page on facebook or follow her blog.

I read this post on her site and ask if I could post it on mine:

Hanging on a wall in one of the most prestigious museums in Paris, is a painting that no one will ever see.

Sure, it has a place of prominence in which thousands of people walk by every year. But despite being set in a gilded frame and hung on the wall with works by the famous French Impressionist, this Claude Monet painting will never be studied, photographed, or viewed by anyone again. Why? Because this painting exists underneath Monet’s 1872 masterpiece, Impressionist Sunrise.

It’s a well known fact that many of the great masters reused their canvases. Art Historians debate that this may have been because they were unsatisfied with the original painting and thought they could create something better. Perhaps the artists used the original for inspiration and as their skills and ideas evolved, the original became a starting off point for something new. And then sometimes, the painter may have been a true “starving artist” – being short on cash meant that any available surface was used and reused to create.

I’ve heard it said that an artist will create not because they are asked or paid to do so, but because they must. To an artist, creation is breathing; the canvas is evidence of the feeding of a soul and the output is a new creation.

I remember when I was a new Christian. It was a foreign concept to live your life for someone else. I didn’t know how to pray. I didn’t know who Jesus was. I sure didn’t have a clue as to what my future held. And though I had a sincere desire to learn, being a Christian just didn’t come easy. Let’s be honest…I still messed up. I still experienced heartbreak. I still found myself humbled and frustrated and fearful of life’s challenges. I still had a lot to learn. (Oh and by the way, I still find myself stumbling through this learning phase.) And I still desperately needed a Savior because despite being covered by grace, I was still ME.

So why is the concept of a reused canvas so powerful?

I had to learn that being a Christian didn’t mean I ceased in making mistakes. No, I am not immune to failure. But amazingly, salvation provided a fresh canvas for the rest of my life. The learning and the longing for a purpose were the paint and the Master was reusing an old canvas to make something new out of me. The old creation was being painted over with each stroke of His likeness. Each prayer became a new image, each experience a myriad of dancing colors. Each time I stepped out in faith, there was a new mark made upon the reused canvas of my life.

The mess-ups don’t matter, for we are new. The heartbreak can be mended, for we are new. The humbling frustrations and the fearful challenges matter not, because – We. Are. New. Each time I learn, each time I pray and each time I receive, I am made new again. Over and over and over, He makes us new. He delights in the life-long creation of the masterpiece that is each one of us.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. Old things have passed away, behold, all things have become new.” – 2 Corinthians 5:17

It doesn’t matter what the old image looked like; the new one will always cover the painted scars of the past. The colors of grace will take over and the new creation is what others will see. This verse defines us! This verse offers hope! This verse tells us who we are – that we are precious and wanted and created with a most skillful hand…

I pray that when my feet step onto French soil someday, that I can go to the Musée Marmottan Monet in Paris. I want to see this lovely painting. I want to study it. I want to take in the strokes and marvel at the genius of this creation. I want to know that there is an old version hidden somewhere underneath what I see and that if willing, the Master will take the old and refashion to new until a true masterpiece remains.

Whether we love Art History or not, I have a feeling that we simply can’t look at a Monet painting in the same way again. I will always wonder – “What lies beneath?”

I pray that whatever is hidden by the new creation will serve as a reminder to all of us, that Christ is the Master with the brush in hand. He longs to reuse the canvas. He seeks to mold. He earnestly wants to refashion and re-style. He offers to add color to the new canvas and bring a fresh stroke to every step in our days.

We are new.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

8 responses »

  1. Kristy! I love this. I’m writing a character right now who is an artist who paints over things from her past that she wants to hide…family photos, family documents, etc. She reuses canvases and paints over some of her own best work. So this post was great for me to read as I imagine what’s going on in her head. Thank you! The painting over of past mistakes is such a great metaphor for God’s grace.

    Reply
    • Laura! How cool is that tie-in?? You character sounds really interesting. You have to follow Kristy’s blog, she has such powerful insight.

      Reply
      • I am humbled, as both of you are amazing writers! And I suppose I just can’t help it. I was an Art History major for 13 years and everything in my mind goes back to art as a result. ; )

    • So COOL! I have a character that is similar, only on the literary side. She covers up her loveless-past by writing a love/advice column for her regional newspaper. And of course, it ties in the greatest romance writer of all time – Miss Jane Austen! I would love to have a painting character some day. I can’t wait to read about your character!

      Reply
  2. Thanks for the opportunity to be the guest author on your blog! I am blessed by you Jess, for you are the baker of my dreams (yes, I am jealous!), and fabulous and most talented writer, and a God-given friend. I look forward to encouraging and supporting you in your publishing journey just as you have supported me.

    Hugs,
    KC

    Matthew 21:22

    Reply
  3. Look who’s here! Kristy, this blog was truly beautiful. Your blogs are . . . well, they are incredibly insightful, thought-provoking, inspiring and they move me. This one is exceptional. Thank you. Come back here tomorrow for a peaches and cream pie recipe worthy of my Sam Lewis. Many blessings to you. Thank you, Jess, for posting (reposting) this blog. It’s worth keeping and rereading many times. I just love it!

    Reply
  4. Thank you, Christy, for your insights.
    This story about a painted-over picture is a good methaphor for our daily renewal
    in our Christian walk.
    I also enjoyed reading the spiritual insights on your blog.

    Wishing you much success with your writing and creating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

