RSS Feed

Dealing with Doubt

*guest blogger Sharon Srock

What does the word doubt mean to you?

I’m sure we’d get lots of answers if we were having a regular conversation.  Uncertainty of a new situation, or place. Distrust of a new person, or an old person who’s hurt us in the past. A lack of belief that the good times will return when times aren’t so good. Sometimes our most serious doubts are directed inward. I can’t do this. I’m not good enough.

I’d be willing to bet that we’ve all been in those situations. After all, it’s easier to stay where we are, with people we trust, especially in the bad times. Our comfort zone is our security blanket. Inside our comfort zone it doesn’t matter what others think of us or even what we think of ourselves.

Did you know that God makes it a habit of asking us to leave our comfort zone?  Moses had it good in Egypt’s palace, Joseph was his father’s favorite son, Esther was just a young girl minding her own business, Joseph and Mary were happy in the life they had planned with each other, and Peter spent his days fishing. God nudged them out of their comfort and into a new place, with new tasks, new people, new doubts.

Read the third and fourth chapters of exodus. I love Moses’ conversation (argument) with God in the desert.

God said, Go back to Egypt and bring my people home.

Moses said.

Who am I to appear before Pharaoh?

Who am I to lead the people out of Egypt?

What if they won’t believe me or listen to me?

What if they say “The Lord never appeared to you?”

I’m not good with words, I get so tongue-tied.

Please send someone else.

You know what I’ve learned from these examples? God isn’t interested in our excuses. He met each of Moses’ doubts with a promise. Moses, Joseph, Esther, Mary and Joseph, and Peter all left their comfort zone and their doubts behind and great things happened.

What’s God urging you to do?

______________________________________________________________

Sharon Srock lives with her husband Larry in the middle of nowhere Oklahoma. Between them they have 6 kids, and 23 grands and great-grands. Holidays are a joyful challenge. A lifetime reader, writing was never her dream, but God had other ideas. Her hobbies include Star Trek, NASCAR, and panning for gold. She recently signed a contract with Harbourlight for the first 2 books in her 6 book Women of Valley View series. The first book, The Women of Valley View: Callie is in its final edit and should release by the end of the year.

http://www.womenofvalleyview.blogspot.com/

 __________________________________________________________________

Women of Valley View: Callie

Three dire circumstances. Three desperate prayers. One miracle to save them all.

Callie Stillman is drawn to the evasive girl who’s befriended her granddaughter, but the last time Callie tried to help a child, her efforts backfired. Memories of the tiny coffin still haunt her.

Samantha and Iris Evans should be worried about homework, not whether they can pool enough cash to survive another week of caring for an infant while evading the authorities.

Steve Evans wants a second chance at fatherhood, but his children are missing.  And no one seems to want to help the former addict who deserted his family.

For Steve to regain the relationship he abandoned, for his girls to receive the care they deserve, Callie must surrender her fear and rely on God to work the miracle they all need.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

14 responses »

  1. Great post, Sharon. I definitely deal with doubt when it comes to my writing. What a great reminder to go where God is calling me!

    Reply
  2. This sounds like a fantastic series, that’s right up my interest zone. Congrats, Sharon, and many blessings!!

    Reply
  3. Sharon, what an awesome post! God does ask us to leave our comfort zone, doesn’t He? Writing is a perfect example.

    You’re a NASCAR fan? We live right smack dab in the middle of NASCAR country, Kannapolis, NC. Hubby thought he was heaven bound when he got the job here. I call it “the land flowing with milk and honey.” Love it!

    Congrats on CALLIE. Sounds like an awesome book.

    Reply
    • Dora, thanks for stopping by.

      Yep, I’m a NASCAR fan out of a sense of self preservation. It’s the only way to surive in a home with a husband who eats, breathes, and sleeps racing.

      Sharon

      Reply
  4. Oh, I needed this today, thank you. I can honestly say I don’t have anxiety when it comes to life events out of my control. They’re easy to give over to the Lord. But computer techie anxiety? I get sick to my stomach. I put it off and put it off and try to no avail, and put it off again. I KNOW God called me to write. Part of that calling involves a bit of tech knowledge. We grow and have to trust, no matter what stage of our lives.

    Reply
  5. Thanks for stopping by the blog today Sharon!

    I *so* needed this word from you today. Sometimes I feel such doubt in my writing journey. Thanks for the reminder to continue on in what God has called me to do.

    Reply
  6. Wonderful post, Sharon! You know I love The Women of the Valley! I loved the reminder of Moses…oh yeah, He can only use us when WE can’t do it. Thanks for the reminder! Blessings on Callie – sounds wonderful!

    Reply
    • Donna, Thanks for the kind words. I’ve felt a little like Moses the last three years. I think we all have at some point in this writing journey.
      Sharon

      Reply
  7. Great post. I’m studying Peter right now, and wow, did God pull him out of his comfort zone! Fisherman turned disciple turned preacher, speaking in front of hoards of people, in front of the high priest and the council. No uneducated fisherman could ever do the things he did. But alas, God was at work in Peter. He is no less at work in those believers who are willing to, as you say, Sharon, leave our comfort zones to follow him.

    Reply
    • Robin,
      I think we’ve both been yanked out of our comfort zone lately. I can’t wait to see how God uses the both of us.

      Thanks for stopping by.
      Sharon

      Reply

Leave a Reply

