RSS Feed

An Interview with N.Y. Times Bestselling Author Margaret Brownley

More Love and Laughter from N.Y. Times Bestselling Author

Margaret Brownley thank you so much for taking the time to join us on the blog today! I’m excited to hear about your new release, Dawn Comes Early.

“I’ve matched up twenty-three couples over the years and in all that time I only made one error. Although I still think the marriage would have worked had she not shot her husband.”

                                                                 —Aunt Bessie in Dawn Comes Early

Characters from Margaret’s new book will send you a reason to smile every day until April 11th. Join in the fun and you could win a book, potted cactus (the story takes place in Arizona Territory) or an iPod Nano and alarm clock docking station.  To enter send an email to contest@NancyBerland.com.  Be sure to put “Reason to Smile” in the subject line.  That’s it!

Jess Says: I fell in love with your Rocky Creek series. You have an amazing gift for crafting believable characters that leap off the page and suddenly become like real friends. Can you tell us a little bit about the heroine in your new novel Dawn Comes Early? What will we love the most about her? What will be loved about this new series?

Thank you, Jessica.  Hope you like my Brides of Last Chance Ranch just as much.

The heroine in Dawn Comes Early is Kate Tenney, a disgraced dime novelist who travels to Arizona Territory as “heiress” to a cattle ranch.  However, she soon finds out that the west is nothing like she wrote about—and neither are the men.

What’s to love about Kate? Readers tell me they love her determination. Having ridden only sidesaddle prior to coming out west nothing comes easy for her, and she has the bruises to prove it!   I also think Kate and Luke make an interesting couple; she’s a college educated woman and he’s “just a blacksmith.”  He doesn’t even know what she’s talking about half the time.   As for the series:  If you like inspirational stories set in the old west, this is for you!

Jess Says: Each of your novels include a few hilarious characters that keep us readers chuckling from first page to ending. Who are the funny characters in Dawn Comes Early? What are their loveable quirks?

I think readers will like Luke’s matchmaking aunt.  Aunt Bessie reads Kate’s dime novel (Yep, the one banned in Boston) and learns an eye-popping thing or two about love.

Readers might even take a fancy to Cactus Patch’s resident outlaw who laments, “The way this town treats its outlaw, it don’t deserve none.”

Jess Says: Your tagline is Love and Laughter in the Old West. What draws you to write about this specific time period?

I love writing about the old west because that’s when women came of age. The westward migration freed women in ways never before imagined. Women abandoned Victorian mores and rid themselves of confining clothes.  The gun may have won the west, but it was the women who tamed it. They brought churches, schools, newspapers and helped build community. These are the heroines for whom we like to cheer.  It must have been a shock to the male ego to have to deal with such strong and unconventional women—and that’s at the very heart of my stories.

I also like writing serious themes with a touch of humor and the old west lends itself nicely to laughter, don’t you think?  Since people lived so close to the land it’s also a perfect setting for an inspirational novel.

Jess Says: What is something surprising about yourself that even your most faithful reader may not know?

I failed eighth-grade English and almost flunked history (all those dates and battles). I did good in science so I’m probably better suited as an astronaut than a writer.  Still can’t diagram a sentence.

Jess Says: Could you share your favorite Bible verse with us?

On days when I’m  unsure of myself, my  favorite “staring at a blank page” scripture is: “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13 NKJV. 

Jess Says: What is the most important lesson you’ve learned during your publishing journey?

I learned the importance of building a viable support system.  This is true of any endeavor, but is especially true of writers.  Writing is such a lonely occupation and only another writer can understand the ups and downs of an author’s life. Publishing is also going through a great many changes.  No single person can keep track of it all.  You need a lot of eyes and ears.

www.margaretbrownley.com

Readers can also find me on Facebook and Twitter.

____________________________________________________________________

About Margaret:

Thrills, mystery, suspense, romance: Margaret penned it all. Nothing wrong with this—except Margaret happened to be writing for the church newsletter. After making the church picnic read like a Grisham novel, her former pastor took her aside and said, “Maybe God’s calling you to write fiction.”

So that’s what Margaret did. She’s now a New York Times bestselling author and a Romance Writers of America RITA finalist with more than 25 novels to her credit

The first book in her Brides of Last Chance Ranch series “Dawn Comes Early” is a available now.  The book will be followed in January by Waiting for Morning.

Margaret’s also excited to announce that her non-fiction book “Grieving God’s Way: The Path to Hope and Healing” will be published in July—not bad for someone who flunked 8th grade English.  Just don’t ask her to diagram a sentence.

_______________________________________________________________

Dawn Comes Early

Brides of Last Chance Ranch

Heiress Wanted

Looking for hard-working, professional woman

of good character and pleasant disposition

willing to learn the ranching business in Arizona Territory.

Must be single and prepared to remain so now and forever more.

Her latest dime novel banned, twenty-nine-year old KATE TENNEY answers an advertisement for heiress to an Arizona cattle ranch. It seems like the perfect solution for a disgraced novelist with no intention of getting married—ever.

Trouble begins the moment she steps foot in Arizona Territory. The west is nothing like she wrote about in her books. Not only does she have to deal with a hard-nosed ranch owner, and nefarious outlaw, but a traitorous heart.  Kate does not trust men and has no intention of falling for LUKE ADAM’S charm.  She’s determined to learn the ranching business and prove to the doubting ranch owner that she’s up to the task—if it kills her.  If only she could stay away from a certain handsome blacksmith and his two matchmaking aunts.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

7 responses »

  1. Hi Jess & Margaret ~
    I read the entire interview and two things screamed out at me … The quote at the beginning – WOW! It took that one line to draw me in and want to get to know Aunt Bessie! (Had I been drinking coffee when I read that line, I shudder to think whether I’d have been able to swallow it!) I must buy this book!

    I think perhaps the most moving comment was Margaret’s reminder that authors need a strong support system. We are often writing in a silo, on our island, in our solitude… Having trusted friends to carry the load and support along the way is something we all need. Thank you for this interview!

    Reply
    • Kristy – I own the entire Rocky Creek series and it is FULL of characters like Aunt Bessie. Margaret has such a way of writing characters that feel like people you run into in life, with odd quirks and fresh ways of saying things that make you laugh. All the while weaving in a heart-changing story. A Suitor for Jenny is my favorite so far…but then again, I haven’t started the Brides of Last Chance Ranch series yet.

      And yes, I was so happy that Margaret said a strong support system is most important. I’ve already found that to be so true. I don’t know if I’d still be chasing after the dream of publication without my close author friends.

      Reply
      • Hi Jess, I kind of liked Jenny, too. You might be interested to know that the 2nd book in my Brides series will feature Lucy’s brother, all grown up. That’s because so many readers wrote and asked me to give Caleb a book of his own.

        Take care!

      • Okay…I want to read Caleb’s story so badly now!! I loved him in Jenny’s story.

  2. Hi Kristy,

    Good thing you weren’t drinking coffee!

    Years ago I met an elderly woman with a 150 books to her credit. (Her name was Dorothy Daniels and she was popular duing the gothic era). She told me that during her entire writing career she never knew another writer, never talked to an editor or agent; everything was done by mail. That’s how isolated writers once were. Today a trusted friend, editor or agent is only a click or telepone call away. We are truly blessed.

    Have a great weekend!

    Reply
    • That sounds so scary to me – to write 150 books without ever talking to your agent! And never having another writer come beside you with an “I know how you’re feeling” hug? You’re right Margaret, we are blessed indeed.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

