RSS Feed

Interview with ACFW President Margaret Daley

A warm welcome to Margaret Daley, award-winning author of eight-two books and president of American Christian Fiction Writers. Thanks for stopping by the blog today Margaret!

Jess Says: Saving Hope released this month and A Love Rekindled releases next month.  With 82 books sold, you have a remarkable span of stories to offer readers looking for different things. What will fans love most about both Saving Hope and A Love Rekindled?

Saving Hope is a romantic suspense with an intense story that keeps you turning the pages.

A Love Rekindled is a contemporary romance about a town that is rebuilding after a hurricane (it is the second in A Town Called Hope Series). It is about a family that is healing after a tragedy.

Jess Says: Saving Hope takes on the important topic of human trafficking. Was it difficult for you to research and write about this topic? Why do you believe this is such an important message to today’s reader?

There are over 300,000 teens caught up in human/sexual trafficking in the United States. It is a growing problem in our country and the world. Yes, it was hard to research, but I am passionate about this problem. Everyone deserve a chance, especially our children who are being exploited.

Jess Says: You write both historical and contemporary fiction. Do you find one easier than the other? What do you enjoy most about each genre? How do you manage transitioning between the two of them?

I started out over thirty years ago writing historical romance, but the first book I sold was a contemporary romance. I started writing contemporary stories after that with a couple of historical ones through the years. It is easier to write contemporary stories although my romantic suspense ones do require a lot of research.  I am more comfortable in the contemporary world than the historical one, but I love history and the research is fun. However, my all time favorite genre is romantic suspense.

Jess Says: You’re a best-selling author, winner of American Christian Fiction Writers’ Book of the Year Contest, winner of the Golden Quill Contest, and winner of the Holt Medallion. But you went through a hard time in your writing career without any book contracts. Can you tell us about that period and how you were able to keep writing? What did you learn from that tough time? What would your advice be to other writers experiencing similar trials?

My advice if you are serious about writing is not to give up. If I had given up during my eight-year dry spell, I would never have gone on to sell sixty-two books. Was it tough? Yes. I didn’t know what to do at times. Did I want to quit? Several times I tried to stop writing, but I couldn’t. It is part of me and I couldn’t totally walk away.

Jess Says: As the President of American Christian Fiction Writers (an amazing organization with more than 2500 members), and an author who usually has more than one book contract going at a time, how do you find time to get everything done? Can you share a little about your schedule?

I’m very organized but I will admit it can be hard at times. I love ACFW and believe in the organization. I wanted to give back to ACFW. At the end of the year when my term is over I will have served on the board for four years. It has been interesting, and I’ve met some wonderful people. I try to write almost every day and being President of ACFW is a job that usually has something to do every day. I work it in between my writing.

Jess Says: Author Barbara Holland once said, “A catless writer is almost inconceivable. It’s a perverse taste, really, since it would be almost easier to write with a herd of buffalo in the room than even one cat; they make nests in the notes and bite the ends of the pen and walk on the typewriter keys.” You have three cats of your own! Can you tell us a little bit about them? How do they help…or not help with your writing?

I have three cats–one male and two females. My male is a big (about 17-18 pounds) cat named Ringo (all white and beautiful). He thinks he runs the whole household. He is the friendliest cat and loves being around people. My two females are Peppy (Peppers because she looks like salt and pepper mixed together) and Charlie (mostly white). All the cats are so different. Peppy is my neurotic cat but is so loveable with me. Charlie is too curious and gets into a lot of trouble because of that. They make me laugh and sometimes wanting to pull my hair out. They all think they rule the house–that I’m there to serve them.

____________________________________________________________________

Margaret Daley, an award-winning author of eighty-two books, has been married for over forty years and is a firm believer in romance and love. When she isn’t traveling, she’s writing love stories, often with a suspense thread and corralling her three cats that think they rule her household. To find out more about Margaret visit her website at http://www.margaretdaley.com.

____________________________________________________________________

Back Cover of Saving Hope:

When a teenager goes missing from the Beacon of Hope School, Texas Ranger Wyatt Sheridan and school director Kate Winslow are forced into a dangerous struggle against a human trafficking organization. But the battle brings dire consequences as Wyatt’s daughter is terrorized and Kate is kidnapped.

Now it’s personal, and Wyatt finds both his faith and investigative skills challenged as he fights to discover the mastermind behind the ring before evil destroys everyone he loves.

__________________________________________________________________

Back Cover of A Love Rekindled:

Kim Walters wants Zane Davidson’s help all right. Her family is struggling to rebuild their home after a hurricane, and Zane is a successful contractor. But the fifteen years that have passed since they were high school sweethearts aren’t about to magically melt away. Nothing can erase Mr. Walters’s clear message—Zane wasn’t good enough for his daughter. But now the Walters fortune is gone, and the town is reeling from the recent natural disaster. Can Kim and Zane find the faith to believe that some things work better the second time around?

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

2 responses »

  1. I’m going to add Saving Hope to my TBR list on goodreads.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

