RSS Feed

Birthday Pound Cake

Two recipes this week — you guys are lucky, I must love you or something. 😉

*Guest Author: Cynthia L Simmons

Have you ever had a huge flop in the kitchen? I have. When I was in my early teens, my brother, who is two years older, decided he wanted us to bake a cake. That surprised me since he’d never shown any interest in cooking. But we enjoyed spending time together and I agreed. While not an accomplished cook, I had experience in the kitchen. He had none. Nevertheless, I knew the basics and wasn’t worried.

My brother had a great sense of humor. He began to crack jokes right away. On occasion, he asked how to measure or where to find an item, but I was having too much fun to oversee him. Despite our antics, the cake turned out fine.

The icing was a different story. My brother wanted it thick like cakes purchased at a bakery. So we doubled the recipe. Somehow, he got confused. I’m still not sure how it happened because he scored better on math that I did. Instead of one teaspoon of salt, he added one cup. There’s a huge difference in a teaspoon and a cup, so I can’t imagine he didn’t question it. But then, he was busy playing comedian.  The icing smelled heavenly, but it tasted like ocean water.

He thought I could fix it. But I explained the problem. Making a recipe large enough to dilute the salt would make enough icing to coat the whole house. Besides we ran low on ingredients anyway, so we dumped the whole mess and started over.

Mom didn’t have any more powdered sugar, so we found a recipe for icing that must be boiled on the stove. I’d never made that kind, and I never dreamed it would be tricky. We plunged in, still acting silly. As the icing started to cook, my brother decided he didn’t care for the color. He thought red would make it more appetizing. I located a small bottle of food coloring which we dumped into the saucepan. We ended up with Pepto-Bismol pink icing so thin that it ran off the cake. Like a balding man, the top had no icing.  The gooey stuff slithered down the sides barely even staying on the platter. The cake tasted good, but it sure was ugly.

My grandmother saw the results and commented that we had too many cooks. She’s probably right. Alone I wouldn’t have created a disaster. But I treasure that memory. My brother and I never shared another cooking adventure.

Since then I’ve raised five kids and taught them to cook. I learned to decorate cakes and made a special cake for each birthday. Our photo albums are packed with my creations. In the last few years, I’ve purchased cakes when pressed for time. My family, however, prefers my birthday cakes.

Here’s my birthday cake recipe.

Birthday Pound Cake

Cream together:

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 2 cups sugar

Add:

  • Four eggs – beat well after each

Mix together dry ingredients and set aside:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 teas baking powder
  • ½ teas baking soda
  • Mix together wet ingredients and set aside:
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tablespoon almond
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Add I cup of dry ingredients and beat well.

Add ½ of wet and beat well.

Continue the last two until all ingredients are added.

This makes 7 cups of batter. Bake in greased baking pans at 350. Depending on the size of the pan, it takes 30 -35 minutes to cook.

________________________________________________________________

What’s wrong with our world? Shouldn’t a God who claims to be all powerful and flawless prevent suffering? How can we continue to believe when storms rage on in our lives? If you’ve ever had tough questions like these Struggles and Triumphs Study Guide is the book for you. Author Cynthia L. Simmons will guide you toward answers with her unique and enlightening approach. Her twelve-week Bible study for ladies comes from stories of real women as told in Struggles and Triumphs: Women in History Who Overcame. As you study, you’ll come to understand God’s perspective on timeless issues that impact your life. The carefully chosen Scriptures combined with interesting historical information will challenge and encourage you.

Purchase the book: http://www.lulu.com/shop/cynthia-simmons/struggles-and-triumphs-workbook/paperback/product-20038687.html

Watch the trailer:

_______________________________________________________________

Cynthia L Simmons and her husband, Ray, have five children and reside in Atlanta. She has taught for over twenty years as a homeschool mother and Bible teacher. Active in Christian Authors Guild (CAG), she conducts writing workshops and has served as president, vice president, and conference director. In December 2009 the membership granted her Life Time Membership for her numerous contributions to writers.  “Cindy” is fond of history and writes both historical fiction and nonfiction. Her writing appeared in CAG publications, NATHHAN NEWS, Chattanooga Regional Historical Magazine, Georgia Right to Life Newsletter, Chattanooga Times Free Press, Catholic Exchange, and Christian Devotions.us. Her first book, Struggles and Triumphs, came out in 2008. While promoting her book, she had interviews on radio and TV across the nation and was nominated for 2008 Georgia Author of the year. She also conducts monthly podcasts called CAG Spotlight in which she interviews authors and VIPs in the writing industry. At present she is completing a twelve week Bible study using the stories in Struggles and Triumphs.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

One response »

  1. My baking never turns out so pretty! I’ll have to try this recipe. Yum!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

