RSS Feed

Classic Cut-Out Cookies

I’m beside myself excited today! One of my favorite authors, Lorna Seilstad, is on the blog today sharing a cookie recipe. She included some pictures of her adorable daughter making the cookies. Enjoy!

___________________________________________________________________

Lorna’s says: Do you have a set of cookie cutters in your pantry collecting dust? Most of us do because cut-out sugar cookies are messy and hard to roll. I promise you, this recipe is delicious and easy to roll and cut out. So break out those cookie cutters, surprise your kids, and have fun!

I love to bake and for many years I made cookies at Christmas and sold them. I was known as the Cookie Lady. My 5 dozen trays had ten different kinds on them, and my poor family only got the cookies that didn’t pass my “quality control.”

In order to fill my cookie orders, all three of my children had to become helpers and learn to bake as well. Still, one cookie I usually made myself was the cut-out sugar cookies. This is a simple recipe, and they could have easily handled it. (Most sugar cookies have too many ingredients.)  However, I enjoy cutting out the cookies and decorating them.

When I was planning my book launch party for first book in the Lake Manawa Summers series, Making Waves, I decided I wanted to make sailboat cookies as giveaways. My youngest daughter Emma decided it was time for her to learn to make them.

Not only did she serve her cookies at the book launch, but she took them to the county fair as a 4-H project. They were chosen to go on to the State Fair where she received a purple ribbon!

Classic Cut-Out Cookies

  • 2 sticks of butter (1 cup)
  • 1 C. sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 whole egg plus 1 egg yolk
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 1/2 C. flour

Directions:

  1. 1. Cream butter and sugar.
  2. 2. Add salt, whole egg, yolk, and vanilla.
  3. 3. Mix in flour.
  4. 4. Wrap in plastic wrap in refrigerate for an hour.
  5. 5. Roll dough on lightly floured surface and cut with cookie cutters
  6. 6. Place cut out shapes on cookie sheet. Put in freezer for 5 minutes.
  7. 7. Bake at 350 degrees 7 to 9 minutes depending on size of cookies.
  8. 8. Cool and decorate.

Makes approximately 36 cookies depending on size of cookie cutter.

Frosting for cookies:

  • 1 C. shortening (butter flavored will make off-white frosting)
  • 3 C. powdered sugar
  • 3 T. milk 
  • 1 tsp. almond extract
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract

 Directions:

  1. 1. Cream shortening and sugar.
  2. 2. Add milk and extracts
  3. 3.  Whip on high until well mixed.

______________________________________________________________

Iowa native and resident Lorna Seilstad received her B.S. in education from Lubbock Christian University. After her first child was born, she quit teaching and became a professional wiper. “I wiped noses, tears, skinned knees, baby’s bottoms, and countertops every day. But at naptime, I wrote.” Today, she writes inspirational historical romance with a generous dash of humor, and lives with her husband and three children. Read more at www.LornaSeilstad.com.

_______________________________________________________________

Lorna’s latest release!

The Ride of Her Life – book description

The only man pragmatic Lilly Hart needs in her life is a six year old. Widowed two years ago, Lilly leaves the shelter of her intrusive in-laws’ home to stand on her own and provide for her young son by working for the summer as a cook at Lake Manawa. However, her in-laws find that life utterly unsuitable for their grandson, and when a row ensues, a handsome stranger–who designs roller coasters, of all things–intercedes on her behalf. Still, Lilly is not about to get involved with any man, especially this cocky (though charismatic) gentleman. Little does she know she is about to begin the ride of her life.

 

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

Leave a Reply

