RSS Feed

My First Contract!

Posted on

“I’ve pinched myself so many times today to make sure that this was real.”– Anne Shirley

Yes, there is an Anne quote for every occasion, and this huge milestone in my life is no different. Because today is the day I get to announce that I’ve signed my first book contract.

I always had writing a book on my list of pipedreams. Just something nice to say, “oh, someday I’ll write a book.” Did you know that 80% of people who dream of writing a book never succeed? That’s crazy.

But I’ll hold my pipedream in my hands before my thirtieth birthday.

The manuscript I sold was titled Home for Good (originally titled: Left to Chance). I know it sounds silly to say this, but I love it. I love the characters and really cheered for them and I hope you will too. It’s the one that won me all the awards on my bio page.

Here’s a quick blurb: Ali Silver wants to raise her son on the family ranch in Bitterroot Valley and bring hope to handicapped children through her therapeutic horseback riding program. But her well-ordered life takes an unexpected turn when Jericho Freed, the husband who deserted her eight years ago, returns to town. Ali can’t decide if it’s the request Jericho makes or the attraction she still feels for him that terrifies her more. When she finds herself—and all she holds dear—in peril, can she depend on the God she feels doesn’t care and the man who once let her down? Or will bitterness choke out any hope of a second chance?

My manuscript was bought by Love Inspired—the Christian imprint of Harlequin. Home for Good will release in February 2013 and will hopefully mark the beginning of a long publishing career.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

45 responses »

  1. I am SO excited for you! That’s it. Just excited!! Can’t wait to host you on the Women’s blog. We can do a coming soon and a interview when the time comes. LOVE IT!!!

    Reply
  2. Donald R.Keller

    Good for you my darling niece,never quit trying ,FOLLOW YOUR DREAMS.

    Reply
  3. Congratulations, Jessica! Blessings as you launch your debut. Many more!

    Reply
  4. Well done! Proud of you!

    Reply
  5. Congratulations. I knew it would happen for you.

    Reply
  6. lornaseilstad

    Jessica, congratulations! I’m just thrilled for you. The book sound so good. I bet you can’t wait to hold your “baby” in your hands.

    Reply
  7. YAYAYAYYAYAYAYAYAAY! I am sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo happy for you, dear friend!!!!!

    Reply
  8. Ena Vander Molen

    Absolutely wonderful! So proud of you, Jess! Love,Ena

    Reply
  9. WHOOOO! I could not be more excited for you! You deserve this. I can’t wait to celebrate with you over fro-yo tonight!

    Reply
    • Yes! I won’t feel guilty eating fro-yo AT ALL! Remember less than a year ago when we met and I had NO CLUE what I was doing. What..wait, what’s a one sheet? Wait, people carry around author buisness cards?? Yikes! Thanks for sticking with me in this journey. I have a feeling you’re next

      Reply
  10. Congratulations! That’s soooo exciting!

    Reply
  11. jennymiller62

    Yeah Jessica!

    Reply
  12. Valerie Comer

    Oooooh, now that I read the blurb, I remember judging this in a contest! WooHOOOOOO!!!! Congrats. I can’t wait to see it in print. 🙂

    Reply
    • You judged my entry?! That’s so great! Thanks for taking the time to judge contests and for all your feedback. I know the contest process has been a huge help to me in my writing journey.

      Reply
  13. Congratulations, Jessica! I signed my first contract a couple weeks ago – it’s a great feeling, isn’t it? Enjoy every moment of it! Well done! Sounds like a fantastic book.

    Reply
  14. what an exciting day! this is such great news, and I’m so proud of your accomplishment. when the release day comes, you better believe I’ll be holding it in my hands (even though I may have already read it). congratulations friend!

    Reply
    • Thank you for celebrating with me, you were the first (besides the hubs) to know and share in the fun!

      The one that will be published will be slightly different. I handed in revisions on Monday!

      Reply
  15. What exciting news, Jessica! I’m SO excited for you. And for us because we get to read the book. It sounds amazing!

    Question, since I can’t tell exactly from the blurb – was it for LI or LIS?
    It sounds like it has some suspense in it.

    Reply
  16. Cynthia Krynock

    Jess, I got goose bumps when I read your news….writing is such a gift….and having someone else see that gift within you is amazing! Congratulations to you, and may this be just the beginning of a new journey in writing….praying that He fill you with stories that will touch the hearts of readers….and bring joy, laughter and even tears to the many that will hold your books in their hands and get to peek into the lives of the characters that you bring to life!

    Blessings…

    Cynthia

    Reply
  17. Congratulations!!! I love the blurb and can’t wait to read it.

    Reply
  18. Congratulations Jess! How exciting!

    Reply
  19. May 2012 will go down in history as the most exciting month of all time. I can’t believe I never got around to commenting on this. I couldn’t be more excited for you, friend. I can’t wait to hold your book in my hands. How did you celebrate?

    Reply
  20. Congrats, Jessica! I’m really excited for you. I can’t wait to buy a copy and read it when it comes out. Jon and I need to have you guys over to our new apartment to celebrate!!!

    Reply
  21. Congrats!! Can wait to see the things you will do!!

    Reply
  22. Congrats, Jess. I told you it was a winner!

    Reply
  23. I CANNOT believe I haven’t replied to this post before. I know I’ve said this before, but congratulations! I am so excited for you, and February 2013 is already on my calendar. For realz.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

