RSS Feed

Introverts in the Kingdom of God

Posted on

Confession. I’ve always been slightly ashamed to admit that I’m an introvert. In our society, it carries the same humiliation as openly telling people you actually enjoyed the movie Mars Attacks. We’re taught you have to be extroverted to rule the world, be successful, and have friends. We’re told introverts are shy, crabby hermits. Introverts are told they should become extroverts.

But know what?

I’ve recently embraced what I am. See, I was created—born—introverted. There is nothing I can do to change it. It has nothing to do with shyness. Being shy is a fear of social situations, whereas introverts prefer to be alone. Big difference.

We’re not a bad lot actually. Research shows that 90% of writers are introverts the percentage is equally high for inventors. Introverts make up at least 65% of the ‘gifted’ population (the ridiculously smart people), but we only make up 25-30% of the general population.

All that’s great, but what really settled my heart is that God values the introvert.

“A gentle and quiet spirit is of great worth in God’s sight.” -1 Peter 3:4

Did you read that, my dear introverted friend? Doesn’t that elicit a huge sigh?

After meditating on this for a few weeks, I realized there are a lot of things within the Kingdom of God that we introverts are predisposed to being good at/comfortable with, that might be more difficult for our extroverted friends. Not that I’m bashing them. Extroverts are amazing and needed and good at so many things. They always get the limelight though, now’s our chance.

1)     “Be still, and know that I am God.” (Psalm 46:10)

We’re wired not just knowing how to be still, but loving it. We love to be holed up somewhere alone, pondering. Where extroverts need constant stimulation, being still comes natural to us.

2)     “Wait for the Lord, be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” –Psalm 27:14

We’re use to waiting. Waiting while the extroverts get all they want to say in, waiting for them to give their opinions first, waiting for the right time to do something. We’re masters at waiting.

3)     “Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.” –Colossians 4:2  “Pray continually.” -1 Thessalonians 5:17

Introverts live in their heads. We have a constant monologue of thoughts going on at all times. We can’t shut it off, even if we wanted to. I’ve found this becomes an excellent avenue for prayer. My constant stream of thinking can become constant prayer.

4)     “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves.” –Philippians 2:3

Again, introverts are used to letting extroverts go first in everything. We love hearing other people’s thoughts and often will hear out everyone in the room before offering our own opinion. Were the trait of an extrovert is to talk on any subject, we will only discuss a subject we know a lot about. If it’s not a subject we know, we don’t talk just to talk, instead, we humbly let the people who know more inform everyone.

5)     “But whose delight is in the law of the Lord, and who meditates on his law day and night.” –Psalm 1:2

I cannot name one person I know who is introverted who isn’t a big reader. Usually, reading will be listed in an introverts ‘top three’ favorite things to do. And why not? We love being in our own world, which lends well to fiction and reading. Know what else this helps with? We’re naturally disposed to enjoy reading our Bibles. We relish the time alone to research and ponder the Word.

6)     “Examine yourselves to see whether you are in the faith, test yourselves.” -2 Corinthians 13:5

We’re the kings of introspection, and know what the main thing that leads to change is? Yup, introspection! As Christians we’re called to questions our motives, to examine our actions, and to test our thoughts. As introverts, we do this all the time anyway. Finding what to work on in yourself is a good thing! Just make sure to take action and not sit pondering forever. 🙂

Much love -jess

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

13 responses »

  1. Love this! Very well written. I’m going to send this to my sister. It’s right up her alley.

    Reply
  2. From an extrovert, I’m glad you are who you are. God created you perfectly!

    Reply
  3. Jess, I really appreciated this post! I’m also an introvert, but never thought of the advantages of being one! Thanks.

    Reply
  4. Kathleen Orlow

    I consider myself an introvert. Loved this post! Thank you!

    Reply
  5. I love this post. I just finished reading the book, Quiet, which brings up some of these very points. Very affirming for us quiet types!

    Reply
  6. Wow! I felt as though you were describing me exactly! Thanks for the reminders of the positives of being an introvert. I’m so glad I stumbled across your blog.

    Reply
    • Thanks Lovenhope! I’m so glad you found my blog. I’m a pretty average jane type of girl who loves the Lord and tries to be encouraging. I hope you stop by again. I do a lot of the same thing on my author page on facebook and would love to get to know you there (here too, but I’m there all the time!). http://www.facebook.com/jessicakellerauthor

      Reply
      • You’re welcome Jess! I am looking forward to future posts and facebook updates from you. As a fellow writer, do you have any advice for me as I begin my journey as a Christian fiction writer? Stacy

  7. Stacy. My best advice would be to look up ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) and become a member. The ACFW email loop and teaching is without value. I have learned more through them and through networking with other writers with ACFW than anything else. ACFW has a group called Scribes that you can join where everyone critiques each others work and helps each other become stronger writers. Once you’re a member, you can also look up your local ACFW chapter, the chapters meet monthly and teach about writing. To join ACFW is like $60.00 a year, a great deal for your money. I wouldn’t be published today without them.

    Beyond that, Study the craft by reading a lot of new Christian fiction, see what’s being published and by which publishers. There are all sorts of books on the craft of writing as well.

    Reply
    • Jess, I have been think about becoming member of ACFW for a few weeks now, but didn’t know if it was worth it or not. I’ll definitely consider becoming a member. Thanks for the advice!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

