RSS Feed

Cheese-Me Chicken Enchiladas

I know I’ve been absent lately (more on that this Friday!) but I promised on Facebook to post the recipe I tried last week for these easy weekday night enchiladas. I give them a bit of kick with my favorite homemade taco seasoning (recipe below), but if you walk on the mild side, leave it out.

Cheese-Me Chicken Enchiladas

  • 2 cups cooked shredded chicken (use leftovers, or I like to boil three chicken breasts in chicken broth – great flavor!)
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion *okay to leave out if you are not an onion fan (we sure did)
  • 4 cups shredded orange cheese of your choice (cheddar works fine, or you can go with a taco blend)
  • 8 (8 inch) flour tortillas
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 can original RO*TEL, or you can chop 1 1/2 cups tomatoes
  • Feel free to use a 1/2 cup black olives, I didn’t because my personal belief is that olives in any form other than oil are of the devil, but sprinkle them as you feel led.
  • a dash of taco seasoning (either from your favorite premade packet, or recipe below)

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a large pan

2) Mix chicken, onion, 1 cup of cheese, and 3/4 cup sour cream. This is when you’d put that dash of taco seasoning, but just a dash, don’t go crazy or you’ll need 5 glasses of water with dinner. Spoon this mixture evenly onto all the tortillas and roll them. Arrange in pan. Keep it to a single layer.

3) Melt rest of cheese and sour cream in a saucepan over low heat. Mix constantly (or else you’ll have hard burned cheese…have fun scrubbing that pan!) until a liquid mixture appears. Take off heat and pour over enchiladas. Sprinkle enchiladas with tomatoes (if using Ro*tel, please drain first, no one likes a soupy enchilada), and olives *shiver*.

4) Bake for 20-30 minutes. And eat. Yum!

 *Fun Addition Alert*

I drained a can of black beans and used them both in the inside mixture and sprinkled on top. Delish, not to mention protein and fiber-ific.

Taco Seasoning

  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano (believe me on this one)
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

Mix all seasoning together. Store in airtight container and use as needed.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

2 responses »

  1. These look so yummy! I’m going to try them soon. Do they reheat well for lunches? My favorite way to cook chicken is a whole chicken in the crock pot on low while I’m working. Great flavor, and all the broth too.

    Reply
    • I haven’t tried reheated it, but I’d imagine it should have the same results as reheating other tortilla wrapped goodies (the tortilla may be a bit soggy, but still delish). And good idea with the chicken in the crockpot, I’ve never tried that.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

