RSS Feed

Change: The Inevitable Constant

You might have noticed that I’ve been MIA from the blog over the summer. You probably saw that the blog looks a little different and if you follow my Facebook page, you witnessed the header morph as well.

Merriam-Webster defines a transition as a passage from one state, stage, subject, or place to another; a movement, development, or evolutions from on form, state, or style to another. In basically every part of my life I’m in the midst of transition. From personal to writing career. And now it’s time to share.

image provided by freedigitalphotos.net

Personal Life:                                                                        

My husband is student teaching right now. He’s worked so hard over the past few years—managing his full-time job and rocking a top GPA in his master’s program. Now he’s student teaching full time and loving it, in December he’ll graduate. It’s a big change for us and a lot of extra work for my husband. Beyond that, I’m eighteen weeks pregnant with our first child. Crazy, right? So life will change a lot for us in the next few months.

Writing Life:                                                                           

After an amazing post from my YA writing friend, Charity, I finally mustered the courage to take a step I’ve wanted for a long time. Admitting I’m a YA (young adult) writer. Here’s the thing, I thought people would look down on me if I wrote YA—like, “oh, how cute…look at you writing stories for kids.” I was happy to find out I wasn’t alone in that fear, New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth talks about this misconception in her blog post.

Confession time. I love all things YA. Music, movies, and their fiction. When I walk into a book story I walk straight to the YA section and usually don’t look at another part of the store the whole time I’m there. I’m surrounded by teenagers through the church’s youth group. And yet still, I pretended that I was a studious adult fiction writer. Respectable. Safe.

Well, safe is boring.

So here I am. I write YA and I will be pitching YA at the ACFW Conference this year. And no what? YA fiction isn’t frivolous. I’ve learned more and been challenged more by the YA fiction I’ve read in my life than anything else.

What does this mean for my blog? My writing future?

You’ll be seeing changes to my format. I’m no longer writing 5 days a week and it won’t be on themes anymore, but rest assured: I still write adult fiction, too (I just am not going to discard my desire to write YA either). In fact, I have a story coming out in a book this October from Oaktara (I’ll save that excitement for another day) 

I still love cooking and will still be sharing recipes, book reviews, news, and author interviews. All the things you’ve enjoyed on this blog will still be here. I promise.

Hang with me during this transition! It’s going to be an interesting ride.

image provided by freedigitalphotos.net

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

7 responses »

  1. What an exciting time for you, Jessica! I love your enthusiasm and I share your love for YA fiction. When I was suffering a serious difficulty with my attention span in reading (something totally unheard of for me), it was YA that cured me and held me spellbound again.

    Maybe it’s because I just adore books of any kind, but it would never have occurred to me to think of YA as less than any other kind of writing. Good thing since I love middle grade fiction too. When I read books aloud to my 4th grade class, it’s a tossup which of us is enjoying it more, but I know that my enthusiasm feeds theirs.

    Congrats again on the pregnancy. I’ll look forward to your updates on everything in your world. 🙂

    And please give my best to your husband. A great student teacher is such a bonus to the mentor teacher. I hope he has a wonderful experience.

    Reply
    • Thanks Mary! I’m so glad you love YA (what’s not to love, really??). So many people have made me feel bad, like I have poor taste or am low brow for liking it more than adult fiction, but I’m over that now. YA rocks, besides, the bestseller lists says I’m with the majority of the populaiton!

      My hubs with student teaching with the same teacher he did is observations with. She loves him and it’s day two and he’s already running the class. I’m excited for this new chapter for him!

      Reply
  2. Woot! I’m so glad that you’ve embraced you’re inner “ya” author, because I’m right with you in preferring those books over regular fiction. I do love regular fiction, so if you continue writing it I will definitely continue reading it 🙂 looking forward to what life brings you, and me!

    Reply
  3. We are so happy for you and Matt, Jessie! Answer to prayer! Congratulations, will keep, you and baby’s health in prayer and that
    Matt can get a good teaching job when his internship is done. Janny

    Reply
  4. Young adult got me through the majority of middle school. I don’t know what I would’ve done without the safety of my books. I love that you’re doing what you love to do. So happy for you…

    Reply
  5. Donald R.Keller

    I know you have been tolod this before- -but – if YA is where your heart is ,simple just follw your heart.Caution,dont forget the resr of the world.

    Reply
  6. Somehow I missed the fb announcement, very very very excited for you guys!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

