RSS Feed

To buy Red…or not to buy Red? I’m torn.

What do you do when two things you love but heads?

Taylor Swift’s new album, Red, releases today, and if you didn’t already know, I’m a huge fan. Sure, her music isn’t the stuff to last 100 years. But they are fun to belt out when you’re speeding down the expressway, and that’s all that matters sometimes.

Who wouldn’t like Taylor? Beyond a wildly successful music career, she’s moved into acting (although…her animated was better), is very involved in using her money and time to help the less fortunate, is personable in interviews, and knows how to pull a good prank.

Beyond all that, she might own the world’s cutest cat:


So why the post, Jess? Well, I don’t know if I can bring myself to buy Red.

Why?

Because rumor has it her song, We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together (WANEGBT), might be about Jake Gyllenhaal. And if that’s true, well, I just can’t support it.

I know. I hear you. She ALWAYS lambasts her exs in her music. Something Conor Kennedy can go ahead and look forward to. I enjoyed those songs. I even enjoyed WANEGBT until I heard it might be about dear Jake.

Whoever the song’s about, Taylor means to mess with them. About it she said, “’I made a song that I knew would absolutely drive him crazy when he heard it on the radio. Not only would it hopefully be played a lot, so that he’d have to hear it, but it’s the opposite of the kind of music that he was trying to make me feel inferior to. I did that because that’s fun.”

But messing with Jake is not allowed.

See, Gyllenhaal and I have a long and serious relationship (one that my handsome man is okay with!). It all started when I saw him scaling a wall (possibly shirtless…) in Prince of Persia. And our relationship was sealed when I watched his mad skills in Man vs. Wild. Side note: If you haven’t seen the episode, youtube it, because it’s so good! The hero, Jericho Freed, in my debut novel, Home for Good, is based on him even! In my eyes, dear Jake can do no wrong.

So what am I to do?

Some will tell me that WANEGBT is not about Gyllenhaal, but about John Mayer. But I don’t think so. One, she already has a pretty flaming song, Dear John. And two, there is evidence in the music video that suggests otherwise.

  1. Taylor is wearing a bracelet that is reportedly an identical to a $100,000 one Gyllenhaal bought her.
  2. In the video the “boyfriend” gives her his scarf. While dating, Swift was photographed multipul times stealing Gyllenhaal’s scarf and wearing it on their dates.
  3. The nail in the coffin? At the end of the video, the boyfriend comes to the door wearing a blue puffy vest. A vest that looks very much like the one Gyllenhaal basically lived in for all the paparazzi pictures during their dating days.

Watch the video and decide for yourself:


Add that to the fact that Gyllenhaal is the only one of her Hollywood men (Joe Jonas, Taylor Lautner, Jake Gyllenhaal, and John Mayer) who she ever got back together with after breaking up initially.

*Sigh* So now, decisions, decisions. To buy? Or not to buy. What do you think??

Hope your Monday is off to a better start than mine! 😉

______________________________________

Yeah…I’m discerning in my listening tastes….sometimes.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

4 responses »

  1. It’s true. Jake was looking mighty good in Prince of Persia.

    Reply
    • Right?? True story…when I first walked in on the scene on Prince of Persia (someone else was watching it), I didn’t know Jake was the actor. And I was like…wow, who is that.

      Then he was so nice and willing to do whatever Bear asked him in Man vs. Wild.

      I’ll probably cave and buy the CD – but I’ll have to pretend I’m listening to that song under protest 😉

      Reply
  2. First off, HOW did I not know Jake was some of the inspiration for your hero in H4G? This is important information! (Okay, rant over).

    I’m sorry you feel so torn. I don’t really share the Jake love, so that’s not the reason I’m conflicted. I wonder how long Taylor can continue writing songs about her exes without sounding like a bitter harpy or a girl with really bad judgment. I like her and all, but I think I’ll be buying Red only if I hear some of the songs differ from this formula.

    And speaking of songs about exes, I’m still sad that she didn’t know what she had with TLautner. I did appreciate her admitting to it in a song though. I secretly wish they’d find their way back to each other…a little pathetic, I know.

    Finally, were you creeped out by the overzealous band members dressed as animals? ‘Cause I sure was.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

