RSS Feed

Yes to Halloween

image provided by: freedigitalphotos.net

Confession: I know I’m not supposed to, but I really like Halloween.

So many people shun the day. Call it evil.

But, I have to ask: is a day in itself evil? Or is it what we do with the day that becomes evil?

From my view, each day is a gift from God and should be treated as such. I work in a police department and can tell you with authority that EACH day on earth is full of plenty of evil. So I don’t see a reason to reject one day over another as better or worse.

Sure, Jess, but…this is Halloween…the season filled with scary movies and ghost stories (which I am firmly against and probably scare easier than anyone you’ve ever met). I mean, will you let your daughter celebrate it when she’s old enough?

Yes. Absolutely.

Why am I okay with Halloween? I have three reasons:

1)    I’m an advocate for anything that spurs on creativity.

At the risk of sounding “old” – kids today don’t have enough opportunity to pretend and dream anymore. Technology has kind of robbed them of that. So why not let them have one day where they can pretend to be anything they want (within reason) without being looked at as weird/silly for dressing up. I’m so thankful that my parents always let us participate. See, they raised us to be smart and discerning and to avoid all appearance of evil. We were never allowed to be anything scary. But, I was a bunny, a waitress, a mailperson, Jean Luc Picard (ha…you’re so not getting a photo of that!), and Steve Irwin (hubs was a crocodile that year).

2)    Free candy.

If you know me, there is really no need to explain that one. Moving on…

3)    An opportunity to pray for children.

Know what? I answer the door on Halloween. *Gasp* I know. But I have one very good reason for participating and promoting trick-or-treating. The first year we owned the house, as kids trickled by, a thought struck me. How many of these kids have people in their lives that are praying for them?

I was blessed to grow up in a home where I know my parents prayed for me, and I believe those prayers made all the difference in the world for shaping me into the woman I am today. But so many children don’t have praying parents.

So I look forward to Halloween with the same glee that many people have over Christmas because I pray for every single trick-or-treater. I may not know their names. I may never see them again. But God knows who those kids dressed as the three little pigs were, I don’t need to in order to lift them up in prayer.

So come on over! I’ve got a full candy bowl and have the whole evening set aside to answer the door.

_________________________________________

Real life and cool finds that don’t fit elsewhere. Sidenote, I might live in the coolest city ever.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

Leave a Reply

