RSS Feed

Where have all the writers gone?

Do you have a writer in your life? Have they suddenly gone missing? Not answering calls?

Don’t worry. They’ll resurface in December.

Every November, writers across the nation join together for Nano Wrimo: National Novel Writing Month. The goal is to write an entire manuscript in just the month of November…an almost impossible task, and yet people do it every year. AND go on to get these manuscripts published!

So if you see a ground of people sitting at a table together at the library or at your local coffee shop, all typing furiously away on their laptops, it’s a good guess that they are writers at a Nano Wrimo write-in event. The organization, My Book Therapy, hosts their own Nano Wrimo complete with awards.

Should you have a writer in your life there are a couple ways to help them this month:

  1. Let them go into their writing caves without guilt. It’s one month. So if the dishes don’t get done that day so that the writer in your life can get out 7,000 words that day, so be it.
  2. Encourage them! Let them know you support their writing and that you’re willing to help them brainstorm or listen to them hatch out their plots.
  3. Send them something to fortify them. Many writers end up skipping meals and sleep during Nano Wrimo, so dropping off some chocolate or pushing a sandwich our way is much appreciated.

And, no, I’m not formally participating in Nano Wrimo this year. I don’t do well when I have to race others to get to a certain word count. It’s just not how my mind works. One of the rules with Nano Wrimo is to turn off your “inner-editor,” and that’s just not possible for how I write. Not editing as I go actually slows me down big time.

I’m not participating, but I’m still going to be keeping my nose to the grind. I have a manuscript to rewrite and a whole new manuscript to start.

Pressing on! And accepting chocolate…

______________________________________________

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

Leave a Reply

