RSS Feed

Music of our Lives

True story: there’s something weird about the way I write. Many of you know, I’m kind of a freak about music. See, I make my own soundtracks and listen to them (like crazy) while I’m writing. This isn’t normal. It’s not advised in most circles.

Making a soundtrack for inspiration is nothing new, even Stephanie Meyers did it while writing the Twilight series. Most of my author friends do it too. But they listen to them while they’re plotting or relaxing.

I listen while I’m writing. There are certain songs for certain scenes and they get played over and over and over again. I listen to my manuscript soundtrack the entire time I plot, write, and the whole time I’m not writing. I make CD’s and play them on my drive to work (which is an hour each way) the entire duration for my work on a certain manuscript. It’s kind of nuts.

All this to say, I’ve decided to share my playlists on this website! My taste in music is all over the place. I hope you enjoy!

______________________________________

Yeah…I’m discerning in my listening tastes….sometimes.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

2 responses »

  1. Fun. I do that too. Don’t feel weird.

    Reply
    • Good to hear, Bethany! Everyone always says (with horror in their voice) “I could never write WHILE music was playing…the lyrics would mess me up.” Whereas, I can’t write in silence. I either need to have my soundtrack playing, or I need to be at a coffee shop where all the conversations can float around me. Noise helps me think.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

