RSS Feed

Popular Trends: The Lizzie Bennet Diaries

For the next few Fridays we’re going to look at a recent trend in pop culture (movies, books, and tv shows) where old things are coming back into vogue…ah, like using the word vogue.

For the first old-becoming-new trend post I want to share with you a guilty pleasure that I’ve been enjoying these last few months.

Have you discovered the vast world of Vlogging? It’s video blogging, and while the original use was for individuals to talk to the camera about whatever topic, now the vlogging population has started to put out television shows (for lack of a better word).

When I first heard about this I told myself, Jess, you will never watch one of those. It’s not allowed!

I mean, the tv is already flooded with shows I don’t watch, so why waste time going online for another show? But folks, I ate my words. Boy, did I eat my words.

Enter The Lizzie Bennet Diaries.

Those Janeites in the crowd will instantly recognize the name Lizzie Bennet as Elizabeth Bennet from Jane Austen’s book, Pride and Prejudice. I heard about this vlog when it was only in week two of showing and it piqued my interest.

Now I count down to when it posts every Monday and Thursday.

Seriously folks, they’ve done a masterful job of updating Pride and Prejudice, while remaining funny and entertaining. Even though I KNOW the story, I keep watching and they keep surprising me! Beyond that, the cast has gone all out making the journey an interactive one. Each character has a twitter, tumblr, and facebook account and sometimes things are revealed through tweets instead of in the show. It’s like a constant adventure. That, and us, the viewers, can interact with all the cast members on a daily basis. Fun, no?

It’s the little things that make this so wonderful…like the family cat is named Kitty Bennet. Or Bingley, Jane’s romantic interest, is a med student named Bing Lee. And the proposal that Mr. Collins offers Lizzie has nothing to do with marriage but was the perfect adaptation for an updated twist! Then two weeks ago we met Darcy.

*long collective sigh*

I won’t spoil anything, but this is a show you should be watching. Besides, each entry is only 3-4 minutes. Who doesn’t have 3-4 minutes to burn/procrastinate on a Monday or a Thursday??

And I’m not the only one. The Lizzie Bennet Diaries has been nominated for awards left and right and picks up new viewers at a staggering amount each and every week.

Why? Simply because the story is timeless.

The protagonist, Elizabeth Bennet struggles with the same things that women today deal with: family pressure, friendship, the concern over reaching happiness in marriage, and questioning if it is possible to be loved for who they are.

No matter how technology changes, Pride and Prejudice will always find a way to stay on trend. The Lizzie Bennet is just the newest (and a very well-done) addition to the timeless thread of this story.

Here’s the very first vlog…enjoy! I dare you not to get hooked…

http://www.lizziebennet.com/

____________________________________________________

Pop Diva – TV shows, movies, youtube clips, and celebrity gossip *cough* I mean…news, galore

Leopard Skin Shoes

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

5 responses »

  1. Thank you for opening my eyes! I’m officially obsessed with the Lizzie Bennet Diaries! I had no idea this existed! You’re amazing. Also, I really love this new series you’re planning to do. I look forward to more!

    Reply
  2. Thanks for sharing the “Lizzie Bennet Diaries”, it was a delight to watchand I totally enjoy your newsletter blog. I actually scroll through my email messages and look for your newsletter just to see what new thing you have found. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Popular Trends: Revamped Fairy Tales « Jessica Keller

Leave a Reply

