RSS Feed

Homemade Starbucks Frappuccino

If you’ve visited my facebook page or my twitter you know I’m a self-admitting Starbucks addict. There is something magical about cozying up with their white mocha on a cool night, or relaxing with a caramel frap on a lazy summer day. There’s only one problem…

A Starbucks addiction can be expensive.

So, in an effort to be more frugal, Handsome and I cut out going to ‘bucks and just started buying the bottled frappuccinos from the grocery store. Delicious, but at $6.00 for four of them, I figured we could do better.

And I did! I learned how to make them at home. Taking us from  $1.50 a serving to around 35 cents a serving. Not too shabby!

Homemade Starbucks Frappuccino

frap

Ingredients:

  • 10 cups of your favorite fresh brewed coffee (Starbucks House Blend brewed at home is the closest to taste)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup french vanilla coffee creamer (I use international delight, but I’ve been told that using Baily’s brand gives a richer mocha taste)
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup chocolate syrup (depending on your chocolate desire – we’re a half cup or more family)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

_______________

Directions:

1) In a large pitcher (I use the kind with a locking lid that you can shake!) put the brown sugar, white sugar, syrup, and vanilla. Let it pile on the bottom.

2) When coffee is done brewing, pour it right into the pitcher (nice and hot!). Stir/shake the pitcher to mix. Because the coffee is hot the sugar will dissolve.

3) Add creamer, stirring.

4) Put the pitcher in the fridge for at least 3 hours, overnight is best.

In the morning your frap is ready to pour and go! All for about 15 seconds worth of effort and with ingredients you most likely have already in your kitchen.

Enjoy! 

Like this recipe? You might also like:

 

Starbucks Pumpkin Scones

Super Chocolatey Pumpkin Muffins  

White Chocolate Cranberry Scones

Eggnog French Toast

_________________________________________

Sharing cool ways to be up on the trends at a quarter of the price. Recipes, clothes, books, fun date ideas. The works.

Copy Cat

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

12 responses »

  1. I went into a sugar coma just reading this! Which, of course, doesn’t mean I won’t give it a try! Thanks, Jess. From another coffee addict. Though I confess, I like Caribou coffee even more than ‘bucks.

    Reply
    • LOL Karen! It’s a bit of a sugar rush — then again, that’s part of the coffee shop appeal ;). I’ve been playing around with trying to recreate some of their warm drinks too and if I have any success I’ll be sure to share. And I hear you on Caribou! I love a good Mint Condition every now and then, and their hot chocolate has no competition because they use real chocolate. None of that pumped syrup.

      Reply
  2. Pingback: No Need for Panera – Broccoli Cheddar Soup « Jessica Keller

  3. Any ideas on how long a jug of this will stay good for? We usually take the bottles camping with us to feed my caffeine addiction but obviously this would be WAY cheaper! Just curious if it would still be good on the fourth day of a camping trip.

    Reply
  4. Have you been able to recreate the Vanilla Frap?

    Reply
  5. Could you substitute caramel syrup for the chocolate syrup for the caramel frap?

    Reply
  6. Would powdered vanilla creamer work?

    Reply
  7. Kelly Withrow

    I see this is for the mocha flavored – to make the vanilla, would I just take out the chocolate syrup?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

