RSS Feed

Word of the Year: Rejoice

When the new year rolled around a lot of my friends posted blogs where they picked one word to focus on for the year. I thought about doing something like that, but I can never settle on one word. But today—on my 30th birthday—I find myself contemplating that possible one word again.

The word I’ve decided on for this year: Rejoice.

Why? Because I rarely allow myself the opportunity to stop and celebrate and I need to learn to do just that. Sometimes I can be a mite too driven. I often jump right to what’s next instead of taking a moment to reflect on what’s occurred.

I signed my first book contract last year and I never let myself celebrate it. I didn’t take a day or a meal to rejoice in what God had done. I signed on the dotted line and plowed on. And why not? There was work to be done….editing and deadlines and more books to write in hopes of another sale. This was a starting point for a writing career, just a starting point, so push on, keep working, don’t stop and do a back flip. I mean, I don’t want it to be my only sale, right??

But still, now I find myself wishing I would have stopped and cherished the moment a little more.

Last year, my husband and I also find out that we were expecting our first child. A child we had prayed for and tried to have for four years. Four years. We had shed tears over many infertility treatments, shared moments of utter frustration, and often, our hope wore thin. And now the child was coming!

But we didn’t take time to rejoice.

Why? We were afraid. After so many years of hoping we couldn’t take another disappointment. If something happened along the way, we didn’t want to be shattered. We were waiting for the other shoe to drop—sure that something would come up again.

Baby with matt

No more. This year I’m going to stop and rejoice at every chance I get. Rejoice in the birth of a healthy baby girl, Anna Rose (born January 23)! Rejoice in the release of my debut novel, Home for Good. Rejoice in turning 30. Rejoice in a six year anniversary with my husband.

How about you? Have you picked a word to focus on this year? If so, what is it? What is something you can rejoice about today?

________________________________________

Jess

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

10 responses »

  1. What a great post! I have never picked a word to represent or focus my year, but this makes me feel inspired to do so. Happy birthday!

    Reply
  2. Happy Birthday Jessica!!! (and congratulations on
    birth of Anna Rose, hope this finds you well).

    Reply
  3. She’s precious! Congrats!! I’d say that’s a HUGE reason to rejoice!!

    Reply
  4. Beautiful baby girl! What a lovely birthday gift. Congratulations. BTW, the word I chose is ‘believe.’

    Reply
  5. Ena Vander Molen

    Loved your blog, Jess. I read it to Grandma and she was so touched, it brought tears to her eyes. Happy Birthday, my dear. Anna is indeed precious. Love, Ena

    Reply
  6. You couldn’t be more right! Be sure to enjoy all of your blessings! You have some pretty special ones 🙂 Happy birthday! Love, Caroline

    Reply

Leave a Reply

