RSS Feed

Just Keep Writing

Posted on

Supposedly it’s spring in Chicago right now but you wouldn’t know that by the snow flurries happening outside my window. But that’s part of the charm of living here – the weather keeps us on our toes. Days go by without the sun and then one day it’ll be green out and the flowers will be there, waiting for us.

My writing career has a lot in common with Chicago weather – bright spots speckled between a lot of clouds. A lot of waiting. A lot of hoping and praying. A lot of telling myself to keep my head down, ignore the snow storms and just keep writing.

just keep writing

And spring arrives, as it always does. For me that means I have book news to share with you. The fruits of months and months of head down, just keep writing.

Small-Town Girl will be the fourth book in the Goose Harbor series, it releases August 2016 and is available for pre-order right now. I can’t share the cover for Small-Town Girl yet (but I’ve seen it and let me tell you … it’s GORGEOUS!). Here’s the blurb:

_________________________________________________________

Her Small-Town Guy 

Goose Harbor, Michigan, is the perfect place for Kendall Mayes to start over and open her date-planning business. When she encounters handsome loner Brice Daniels, who is struggling to keep the shipping business he runs going, she sees an opportunity. A weekly sunset cruise catering to couples and tourists will keep their dealings strictly business. Kendall has had enough of failed romances, and Brice is too burned by love to give it another chance. But despite their reservations, they soon let down their walls. Yet when Kendall’s silent business partner is revealed to be Brice’s longtime enemy, staying together might be next to impossible.

__________________________________________________________

At the end of last year I was invited to join a group of five other authors to work on a continuity series together. Love Inspired, my publisher, planned the series and the six books will release in back-to-back months from October 2016 through March 2017. It’s called the Lone Star Cowboy League: Boys Ranch series and builds off of Love Inspired’s original Lone Star Cowboy League series. My book is the second in the series, set to release November 2016 and I couldn’t be more excited to put this one into your hands! The book is called The Ranger’s Texas Proposal. It’s about a Texas Ranger named Heath who pulled at my heartstrings from the moment I got him onto the page.

And today I found out the title for my fifth Goose Harbor book – Apple Orchard Bride. It will release January 2017. I have a feeling the cover for this one is going to be so pretty. I mean – an apple orchard and a wedding!

For those keeping track, that’s three books releasing in a six month period which is craziness in the publishing industry. I’m beyond blessed and excited. These books are my flowers after a long, dark winter and the breakneck release schedule is a reminder that “no matter what, just keep writing” is the best writing career advice I was ever given.

About Jess Keller

I'm an author, speaker and chocolate eater who's chasing hard after my dreams.

2 responses »

  1. Have you given up on your Timeshifters series? Haven’t seen any news about this for the longest time.

    Reply
    • Thanks so much for your kind words! I would love to continue Michael and Gabby’s story too (I heart them so much and have great stuff planned for book 3), but at present I am contracted to write several other books for a publisher and cannot devote enough time to my independent projects. Be sure to follow my author page on Facebook or like my Amazon author page for updates on when future titles in this series come available. Thanks so much for your interest in my books, it means so much!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

